Mourning dove & incoming storm

I wanted to share what happened a few days ago.  Lately, I’ve had some bad luck with my timing of getting the horses fed before storms.  I knew this one was going to be close since the wind had already picked up before I started feeding.  I opted to put Nathaniel in the stroller rather than the backpack.  He prefers the backpack because he’s constantly moving and always gets to go with me.  He doesn’t like being parked in the stroller; he’s an on the go type of guy.  I selected the stroller because I could quickly get him out of the weather if my timing was off.

So, as I’m feeding as quickly as I can the wind picks up.  There isn’t any thunder or lightening.  I know… if you can see it… the storm is to close.  I happen to look at the run in shed roof & there is the mourning dove.  At first it stands on the roof… tall, solid, & strong.

As the storm approaches the wind really starts to pick up.  I look to see if the dove is still there.  Sure enough it is!  It did however hunker down to minimize the wind effects.  I feel a sense of peace with the dove there.

Finally, big drops of rain begin to fall as I’m almost finished.  I push Nathaniel into the garage.  I was ALMOST finished & still no lightening or thunder… just rain.  I glance to the run in shed roof & the dove is gone.  I hurry and wrap up… the rain pours down on me, but yet it feels good at the same time- cool water after all of the heat & humidity. 

I don’t know… was the mourning dove looking out for us?  Certainly seemed like it to me.

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Life after John's Death and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

