The last few days… random stuff…

I feel like I’ve been slacking on my entries the last few days, but by the time the muse hits me, I’m exhausted… like falling over tired…

Nathaniel loves riding his bike.  It’s so cute to watch him enjoying it, but at the same time, it hurts because I know how much John would enjoy seeing him.  Especially with his bike helmet on & I know John would have LOVED taking him for bike rides.

I’ve been taking the boy on bike rides everyday.  He seems to like it.  I’ve been trying to go for 30 minute.  I was hoping my fitness level would increase some, but the last few days I’m exhausted by the time I get to 30 minutes… of course tonight (at about 6:30 PM), I thought to myself… I didn’t drink any water beforehand & I hadn’t eaten since breakfast… hmmm… do you think that could have something to do with it?  Idiot!

On Friday, I stopped at the bike store in Havre de Grace.  I had questions about bike maintenance & fitting.  They were really nice and told me they could do a basic fitting for me at no cost and explained the basics of maintenance.  Of course, in my head the only thing I could think was… lube the chain every few rides— oh dear… how do you lube a chain???  I found some of John’s bike stuff in a box in the bathroom… not quite sure how it ended up there… most of it looked foreign to me, but I did find something called chain lube.  I squirted it on the chain & turned the pedal backwards like it said.  I’m not sure if it’s that simple or not.

Saturday, the Purkey and the Donahue families came over to visit.  It was great to see them.  Josh was the last person I’d seen from AFD and that was before the whole tractor fiasco!  Nathaniel played great with all of the kids.  He doesn’t get a lot of opportunity to interact with many children (other than occasional library programs), so it was good for him!  He was such a good boy.  All of the kids were just great kids!  The newest Purkey twins are so TINY!!!  I don’t think Nathaniel was ever that little!!!  Of course being born at 10 lbs pretty much negates the whole “little” thing.  Ms. Squall even gave “pony rides.”  She looks so great for 22 years old and she was just typical self— good ‘ol mare.

The tractor fiasco– over $700 spent on repairs & Charlie backs the tractor off and it doesn’t run right.  I could hear from the house that it wasn’t running right– that’s bad– I don’t have educated ears!!!! Not happy with Atlantic Tractor– they’re also the same ones with the “call your husband comment.”  Right now… the theory is don’t put on the parking break & hopefully it should work… we’ll see.  It seems like most of the tractor’s problems— water in the fuel, breaks sticking, etc are coming from the tractor sitting out in the weather.  I’m hoping that a plan to keep it out of the weather is still in the works…

Well… it’s 2 AM… I’m going to hit the hay for now… night…

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Annapolis Fire Department, Cycling, Friends, Horses, Leaky Creek, Life after John's Death, Nathaniel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

