More random stuff from the past few days…

In no particular order…

The Jeep- Trying to be the responsible head of household, I decided that I needed to find out when the Jeep needed to be serviced.  I called Adam’s Jeep in Aberdeen and they told me that they had last seen the jeep when it had 30 some thousand miles on it.  For a second, my head went W-H-A-T and started to go into panic mode.  The jeep now has about 77,000 miles.  Then a cooler head prevailed and went… I think he got a local oil change.  I checked and there was a sticker from Wilson’s in town.  PHEW… it has had a fairly recent oil change!  However, I doubted that it had the 60K service done there.  After a few phone calls, I determined that it was in need of the 60K service.  Since the service took several hours to complete, I checked to see if Di (John’s aunt) could watch Nathaniel.  The thought of taking him there & waiting or trying to maneuver car seats was greatly increasing my stress level.  So, I was very glad that she could!  Thanks, Di!

So, the jeep got it’s service & found out it needed new brakes/rotors.  Sigh… It was not a cheap week for four wheeled vehicles…

I finished the book, “Widows Wear Stilettos,” which ironically is due  back on my anniversary.  I had hoped that it had more practical financial advice, but it was a little light in that area.  It did say that you’re entitled to grieve at your own pace, that it’s okay to ignore the “everyone elses” as needed, and that your spouse ultimately would want you and  your child(ren) to be happy- bottom line.  It was good to read the book- to know that I’m not the only one who has lost a husband at a young age.  Don’t worry… no stilettos for me!  A lot of the book was dedicated to new relationships- which I have no intentions of pursuing maybe ever- or at least not anytime in the near future…

On that topic… it’s odd… one person has implied that I have a long lonely life ahead and that’s just the way things are.  Somebody else said- with a smile like that you’ll find somebody when the time is right.  Talking to somebody else I mentioned that I was concerned because Nathaniel didn’t have a “father figure.”  The friend said, “We’ll I’m sure he’ll have a stepfather.”  I know I had a shocked look on my face over that one… me- not so sure about that…

John and I had actually discussed it… he said that I could remarry “as long as he was rich & handsome.”

Leave it to John… lol…

Me… don’t see it happening…  don’t even see a day where I’ll take my ring off.  I still consider myself married… my husband is just up in Heaven now.  Love Always.

Well… it’s late … or early… so I’m going to “hit the hay.”

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Family, Life after John's Death, Stage IV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

