I can’t take credit for this, but wanted to share…

I saw this on a bulletin board that I frequent.  It was just so beautiful.

A 13 year old boy died suddenly from pneumonia. His family was grief stricken, especially his younger siblings. The siblings couldn’t understand why he was gone, he was their best friend. They begged their grandfather for answers as he seemed old and wise. He simply took his other grandchildren into the library and showed them his dusty old books. He said, “See, there are some really thick books on the shelf, some medium sized books on the shelf and some thin books on the shelf.” He asked his grandchildren, “Do they all have a beginning, a middle and an end.” They replied, “Yes.” “Then,” the granfather said “each one of them is complete?” Again the grandchildren replied, “Yes.” He explained that our lives are much like these books, some of them are shorter, some of them are longer, but they all are complete. Just because the book, or in this case the life, was shorter, does not mean that it was not complete or not just as valuable as the long one. Some of us live on the scale of Gone with the Wind and others of us The Pearl. Both, equally beautiful, both complete.

I don’t know who to credit for the story- otherwise I would.

Yes, John’s book was way too short, but his book was well written and includes many chapters of a life well lived- that’s for sure!

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Life after John's Death and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I can’t take credit for this, but wanted to share…

  1. What a beautiful passage- thanks for sharing. I never met John, but I am learning so much about his character through your words. A well-written book indeed :^)

Leave a Reply

