Funeral Pics Part II

On the day of the funeral, Reverend Jim Jones, had said that he had decided that we shouldn’t open up the floor to other speakers because of it could get really long and we already had a good number of speakers.  I took a deep breath and hoped that I could yet again summon some of that inner strength that I didn’t used to have & politely told him that I wanted to open the floor to speakers.  Luckily, he pretty much left it at “we want to make you happy.”  PHEW… me getting mad with the preacher probably wouldn’t earn me any “Heaven points” and I intend on getting in there because my honey is waiting for me up there.

There was a viewing beforehand and then the funeral started.  I did get audio of the funeral because I thought it would be important for Nathaniel to hear at some later point in his life.  I hope to be able to publish it on our website at some point in time.

The service went perfectly.  Both preachers did a great job.   I thought I’d be a wreck during the funeral, but I found myself smiling and enjoying the services.  It was great to hear all of John’s accomplishments and to know that he was loved by so many people.  John achieved a lot of success in the short time that he was on Earth… many people live an entire lifetime without doing half of what he did!

The stories that John’s friends & co-workers shared truly made the service wonderful!  Thanks so much to everybody who stood up & shared a little bit of Smitty with everybody!!!  I wanted for John to have a personal service and I was concerned that it might not be since Jim Jones didn’t really know John that well.  The last thing I wanted was a generic ceremony & luckily that didn’t happen!

John was taken to the cemetary in the antique engine.  I know that he probably would have preferred a different piece of equipment, but the antique was equipped with casket rollers and designed for the purpose.  Turns out that John’s funeral was the first funeral it was used it.  I rode in the fire truck to the cemetary… it was our last ride together.

Salute

Salute

Brookview Cemetery

Brookview Cemetery

Our last ride

Our last ride

Entering Brookview Cemetery

Entering Brookview Cemetery

Last ride

Last ride

Heading into Brookview- Johns last ride John’s last ride
Flags

Flags

The helmets
Chief Smith

Chief Smith

Chief Smith presenting helmet to me.

Chief Smith presenting helmet to me.

Chief Reichenbach

Chief Reichenbach

Chief Reichenbach presenting helmet to me.

Chief Reichenbach presenting helmet to me.

Fire trucks in cemetery

Fire apparatus in cemetery

Saying my final goodbye was hard.  I said, “I love you sweetie.” as  I patted the coffin (John would have rolled his eyes at me & reminded me that he’s not a horse.) and my ring tapped up against the metal coffin- metal on metal- hollow and ringing- that got me emotional again.

The reception afterwards was very nice.  Nathaniel came to join us.  I didn’t feel that the viewing or funeral was the appropriate place for him and I felt that it would just be too emotional for me.  It was hard enough to look at the healthy pics of John proud as punch of his son, I don’t think I could have handled it.

To sum up… I just think that John’s services were a wonderful tribute to a truly wonderful person who lived his life very well.  I know he would have felt that he didn’t deserve everything, but he did.  I was very privleged to have him in my life and will always be proud to be his wife.  I hope that John’s memory can be shared with Nathaniel, so he’ll realize how special his father was to so many people!

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Events in honor of John, Life after John's Death, Nathaniel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Funeral Pics Part II

  1. Frank Brown says:

    One of my friends who attended the funeral said it was the most impressive funeral he had attended. Some of the nice touches were the two firefighters on the back of the antique truck. One was from the Rising Sun which John joined while in high school and the other was from the Annapolis where John reached his goal of being a paid professional fire fighter. The pallbearers consisted of friends, family, and firefighters from both Rising Sun and Annapolis. The support throughout the viewing and the funeral proves that firefighters surely are a band of brothers

Leave a Reply

