In John’s own words– “John-ology”

I was looking at John’s FB page and came across this.  It was dated February 19, 2009.  (To give you a context- John found the lump on his neck- which made him stage IV on February 21st, so this was taken after his stage III, when we thought he was healthy.)  John rarely did the FB surveys, so it is a little outside of his norm.  I thought for those of you who don’t know John, it would give you a little look at his life.  For those of you who do know John– it will either bring a smile to your face or a tear to your eyes– for me it did both.

John-ology
Thursday, February 19, 2009 at 9:02pm
FOODOLOGY*
What is your salad dressing of choice? Italian, and NOT the creamy kind… blecckkk.
What is your favorite sit-down restaurant? Outback.
What food could you eat every day for two weeks and not get sick of? Starburst Jellybeans.
What are your pizza toppings of choice? Pepperoni.

TECHNOLOGY*
How many televisions are in your house? Two.
What color cell phone do you have? Grayish.

BIOLOGY*
Are you right-handed or left-handed? Right.
Have you ever had anything removed from your body? A few things.
What is the last heavy item you lifted? Define heavy…
Have you ever been knocked unconscious? Yep… well, technically I was out before the knock.

BULLCRAPOLOGY*
Would you want to know the day you were going to die? Before hand, or the day of?
If you could change your name, what would you change it to? Wouldn’t change it.
Would you drink an entire bottle of hot sauce for $1000? No. But I’d try to get someone else to.

DUMBOLOGY*
How many pairs of flip flops do you own? None.
Last time you had a run-in with the cops? Never, I’m a good boy.
Last person you talked to? Wife.
Last person you hugged? Nathaniel.

FAVORITOLOGY*
Season? All of them, unless it’s too cold or too hot.
Holiday? Thanksgiving.
Day of the week? They’re all the same to me.
Month? Not much difference to them either.

CURRENTOLOGY*
Missing someone? Always.
Mood? Fine.
What are you listening to? The wind howl.
Watching? The letters appear as I type.
Worrying about? Not a thing.

RANDOMOLOGY*
First place you went this morning? Bathroom.
What’s the last movie you saw? In the theater? Hmm… can’t recall.
Do you smile often? Enough.

EVERY THING ELSE UNDER THE SUN-OLOGY*
Do you always answer your phone? Nope.
Its 4am and you get a text message, who is it? I dunno, I’ll get it when I wake up.
If you could change your eye color what would it be? Different than what it is now, I suppose.
What flavor do you add to your drink at Sonic? You can add flavors to your drink at Sonic?
Do you own a digital camera? Several.
Have you ever had a pet fish? Yes.
What’s on your wish list for your birthday? Nothing, I buy what I want.
Can you do push ups? Sure.
Can you do a chin up? The real kind, or the leg flailing everything you can do to get up kind?
Does the future make you more nervous or excited? Neither.
Do you have any saved texts? Some that are yet to be deleted, but I wouldn’t call that ‘saved.’
Ever been in a car wreck? A couple… if the school bus in 3rd grade counts.
Do you have an accent? Doesn’t everyone?
What is the last song to make you cry? Maybe tonight, Maybe Tomorrow by Wide Awake.
Plans tonight? Do this and then goof off a bit more.
Have you ever felt like you hit rock bottom? No, pretty sure life could be worse…
Name 3 things you bought yesterday? Yesterday? Nothing.
Have you ever been given roses? Yes… a yellow one, last year at the LiveStrong Challenge.
Current hate right now? Life’s too short for hate.
Met someone who changed your life? Yep, just put him to bed.
How did you bring in the new year? Slept.
What song represents you? No song could capture all that is me. (boy that sounds egotistical.)
Name three people who might complete this? Hard to tell.
Would you go back in time if you were given the chance? Nah.
Have you ever dated someone longer than a year? Yes.
Will you be in a relationship 4 months from now? My wife certainly hopes so.
Does anyone love you? I think it’s safe to say so.
Would you be a pirate? The ‘Shiver me timbers’ kind, or the kind that steals software??
What songs do you sing in the shower? Don’t really sing in the shower.
Ever had someone sing to you? A girl wrote this, right?
When did you last cry? Last night watching Real Sports about a kid named Kyle Lograsso.
Have you held hands with anyone today? Well, I held Nathaniel’s hand.
Who was the last person you took a picture of? Nate.
What music did you listen to in elementary school? What we we played on the recorder I guess.
Do you believe in staying close with your ex’s? I guess not, since I haven’t.
Are most of the friends in your life new or old? In age, or in length of time I’ve known them?
Do you like pulpy orange juice? Is there any other kind?
What is something your friends make fun of you for? You’d have to ask them.
What are you saving your money up for right now? Nothing special.
When is the last time you ate peanut butter and jelly? That sounds good, how about now?
What song(s) do you want played at your funeral? Doesn’t matter, I won’t hear it.
What were you doing 12 AM last night? Turning the TV off after the Tour of California recap.
What was the first thing you thought of when you woke up? Five more minutes…

Damn… I miss him… God, I love him…
As I have on my e-mail signature- Forever loved- Forever missed- Love Always
About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Life after John's Death, Nathaniel, Pre-stage IV. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

