He walked out of the room and didn’t come back

Our friend, James, came over today to see if he could figure out what is going on with the computer.  He mentioned that he had some videos on his phone that had John in them. 

In one, I see John’s foot and his arm as he reaches to comfort Nathaniel. 

In another it starts out with the three of us.  I hang on every word that John says the video is 18 minutes long… within the first minute in a half, John gets up and walks out of the room and doesn’t come back. 

Ironic?

I couldn’t help it.  I started crying.

I seemed to remember that was the day that James snapped some pics of the three of us.  I looked up March 15, 2009 and sure enough, I was right. 

We never had professional photos taken of the three of us.  I thought it was a waste of money.  I had friends who could take good photos and we had all of the time in the world to get photos taken instead of getting fake pics taken in some studio.  Boy was I ever wrong.  The talented photographers never got a chance to take them.  And our time was way too short. 

Here’s the result from that day. 

John, Mary, & Nathaniel, March 15, 2009
John, Mary, & Nathaniel, March 15, 2009
John, Mary, & Nathaniel, March 15, 2009
John, Mary, & Nathaniel, March 15, 2009
John, Mary, & Nathaniel, 3-15-09
John, Mary, & Nathaniel, 3-15-09

My hair was a mes and I hadn’t taken a shower that AM.  Figures that those are, I believe, the only good shots of the 3 of us.  Sigh.

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Nathaniel, Stage IV and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

