Yard sale

You’ve probably picked up that I’m trying to find ways to save money.  Today, was another step.  Shawn, my trainer, called me to tell me that there was a good yard sale with lots of little boy stuff.

Now, in the John Smith days, we didn’t do the yard sale thing.  John and I would have conversations about how strange it seems that people take all of their junk out of the house and put it on their yard and try to sell it to complete strangers who swarm to pick through their belongings.  Usually whatever doesn’t sell goes in the garbage.

Think about it… odd!!!

But, in the post John Smith days, Ms. Mary is trying to do what she can to cut costs while not living “cheaply”.

Shawn pointed out that little kids don’t know the difference between new & used & I could even get some things for Christmas or when he was older and put them away and he’d never know.

Nathaniel and I stopped by the yard sale.

I spent $7.00, we got-

Metro City Ladder Truck 33- HE LOVES IT!!!

Shake & Go race car track with 2 cars

Fireman toy

A battery operated train with track

Magnetic letters

Semi car carrier for Hot Wheels/matchbox storage (too old for him now, but what boy doesn’t like matchboxes/hotwheels)

Plastic tricycle… it’s seems better days, but will be perfect for him to learn on

Books- “All Aboard Fire Trucks”

“The Fire Engine”

“It’s Time to Call 911”

“First Bible Stories”

“The Special Delivery” (Thomas book)

“Johnny Tractor and Friends:  Working Together”

“Bob’s Recycling Day” (Bob the Builder)

“I knew You Could: A Book for All of the Stops In Your Life”

“Poems to Read to the Very Young.”

“Teacher’s Pets” (Clifford)

& “Clifford the Small Red Puppy ”

So, all in all I think we got some good bargains!  I also remember my father’s adage, If you didn’t need it, it wasn’t a bargain.

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Events in honor of John, Life after John's Death, Nathaniel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yard sale

  1. Angela says:

    Mary~toys are the best deals at yard sales! I was hesitant at first, too, but when you are at a sale, you can get a pretty good idea of the ‘environment’ that toy comes from. I’m picky about where I’ll buy toys and clothes from, but I sure make out like a bandit. I’ve actually gotten a brand new Fisher Price ‘pink’ doctor set still in the box ($2); a sealed, brand new memory game ($1) and something other brand new toy I can’t think of at the moment. Be picky, but you’ll have more toys than you can believe before you know it! (like the Little Tikes push/riding toy I scored for $3; retails for $30 or more!)
    Ang 🙂

Leave a Reply

