A new grave…

When I stopped by Brookview today there was a freshly dug grave not far from John’s site.  My heart goes out to the family of the newly deceased.

Once I got out of the Jeep, I did my ritual of trying to swish out the equipment marks, but this one left a ridge across John’s grave.  Heavy equipment over fairly fresh earth will do that.  Luckily there is not too much difference… maybe a half inch or inch.  I figure I’ll wait till after the funeral to see what the best way to get it leveled out without tearing up too much grass.  They maintenance people will probably repair it anyway.  They do a LOVELY job of maintaining the cemetery.  The grass is kind of coming in sparsely anyway, so it probably wouldn’t hurt to re-seed it.

One of the things that I like about Brookview… at least in the part where John is buried the ground is pretty level all the way across.  It creeps me out how the ground is so sinky and un-level in cemeteries (I don’t know the right word to describe it… but you probably know what I mean… as if a mole had been burrowing).  I don’t like to think about walking across bodies.  I try to avoid it, but you know… it is a cemetery- reality is that bodies are buried there.

Honestly, that is one of the reasons that I chose an plot adjacent to the road.  I don’t want to disrespect the deceased by walking across them or having a toddler run across them.  And I wanted it to be super easy to find!

Me being the inquisitive type that I am used my investigative powers to determine who the newest member of the cemetery would be.  The spikes said R.T.F. for R. T. Foard Funeral Home. I had several reasons for wanting to know- 1.  I was curious & 2.  I wondered when the services would be because I really would prefer not to disrupt the funeral goers in their time of grief.

I soon determined whom would be buried there.  My heart went out to the family.  Luckily, I didn’t know the person.  Too many funerals this year.  I did find that the man is a horse person as well.  Brookview is stocked with some local horse people already- Melissa and Missy rode with me when I was younger and there is also a stone with a beautiful hunter etched on it.  I’ll be buried next to a farrier- well John in between us… I can see him rolling his eyes now.  A farmer who sold beautiful hay is also buried there.  Makes for an interesting thought about a round table and conversations for eternity.  Of course they say only your body is buried in a graveyard.

Of course, in reality we really won’t know till it’s too late, will we.

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Life after John's Death and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

