Treasures left behind

Yesterday,  I was looking at the flickr album to see if it would work to upload the video.  I thought it was “my flickr.”  It used the yahoo login that we shared.  I never really got into the hang of flickr, but would use it to occasionally comment on friend’s albums.

I was very surprised to see that John had used the account for his pics… and one mysterious pic of newborn Amber.  I don’t know if I put that one up… can’t see John doing it, but who knows… stranger things have happened.  He took a photo of baby Remi to work to show to his co-workers… of course then he tried to sell him… lol…

Some I’d seen before… others I hadn’t

John at Annapolis

John at Annapolis

John loved working for Annapolis.  He loved the history and heritage.

John loved working for Annapolis. Among many other things, he also loved the history and heritage.

John at Annapolis

Annapolis Fire Department

In the drivers seat- Annapolis Fire Department

In the driver's seat- Annapolis Fire Department

John at a wreck

John at a wreck

Final Delivery, Potomac Fire Equipment, June 2003 His baby

Final Delivery, Potomac Fire Equipment, June 2003 "His baby"

Final Delivery, Potomac Fire Equipment, June 2003

Final Delivery, Potomac Fire Equipment, June 2003

MSFA Convention June 2003,

MSFA Convention June 2003,

Nazareth, PA Big Show, final inspection & pickup, May 3, 2003

Nazareth, PA Big Show, final inspection & pickup, May 3, 2003

Pre-purchase photos from Pierce, February 21, 2003

Pre-purchase photos from Pierce, February 21, 2003

CAD

CAD drawing861 2003 Pierce Dash 105' HD Aerial Ladder: June 19, 2003

Truck Committee:  Nazareth, PA Big Show, final inspection & pickup, May 3, 2003

Truck Committee: Nazareth, PA Big Show, final inspection & pickup, May 3, 2003

John in a baseball cap????  Now that’s a rarity!!  You’ll notice that it’s not just any cap… it’s a PIERCE cap 🙂  I believe it’s sitting in our hall closet.

I remember how much John enjoyed being on the committee to purchase 861.  It was a small committee made up of people that John really respected as people and firefighters.  He liked that it was a small committee because it didn’t get bogged down in politics.  John went to so many places to see the truck.  He’d always call me every evening.  He was like a kid in a candy store… going over the truck and noting every last detail.  Making sure that it was perfect before delivery.

One of my fondest CFCRS memories was going to see the new equipment when it arrived.  And just waiting in eager anticipation to see it and to see my honey!  I know I had to have the hugest smile on my face when he climbed out of the door!

I also loved when we’d go to the firehouse and he’d show me the equipment and explain things to me and we’d sit on the front of one of the trucks and talk.  Good times.  Good memories.  We didn’t do it very often, by the time I’d met John his days of hanging out at the firehouse were waning.    He’d go for calls, but he’d drive from home… in his sexy red 1996 Grand Am.

I had the pleasure of seeing John in action at calls just twice.  Once was a fire at the mushroom house and the other was a wreck at Route 1 & Stevens Road.  I had went with his mother, Ann, with the Ladies Auxilary.  We took them food and drinks.  I remember the smile on John’s face when he saw us.  I remember how awesome it was to get a rare glimpse of John doing his job… his thing… it was like a little window into a world I rarely got to see.  He was making things happen, confident, in his zone, and it was a sight to see.  I also got to watch a training  house burn which was very neat, as well.  I took pictures… no idea where they are now…

And other treasures…

I found a notepad with his writing on it.  It’s just a list of things that he needed to do, but I just want to hold onto it… to keep it forever… it’s HIS handwriting…   I know it’s silly.

I’m still trying to figure out how to upload the last memorial slide show.  It’s a disk.  When I load it it plays on Real Player- most of the stuff runs off of Window’s Media Player.  There was a song listed on the player.  With a title and artist that I didn’t recognize.  I was curious, so I hit play.

It was “the LiveStrong song.”  John referred to the LiveStrong song before and I had no idea what song he was talking about.  I don’t believe I’d ever heard it.  John had mixes that he created for his IPod when he was riding.  He told me how much he wanted to quit and how tired he was during the Philly LiveStrong Challenge in 2008.  When he was just about to give up, “the Live Strong song” came on.  It gave him the inspiration, the strength, and the courage to continue.  And he finished the 100 miles!

So… without further adieu… “the LiveStrong Song”  aka Maybe Tonight, Maybe Tomorrow by Wide Awake

What a beautiful song.

I know that the treasures that I’ve found aren’t things that John left for me to find.  Some random luck and just searching for other things was involved in finding them.  I’ve enjoyed every moment of them.  I hope I find many more treasures left behind…

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

