A shitty night

The barn cats don’t use a litter box.  They go to the door when they want to go out, like a dog does.  Of course sometimes they’re just tired of being in.  Sometimes they’re downright annoying.

I’d heard a cat meowing and ignored it.  Finally, I got up to let the cats out.  Punkin was sitting on the steps and had an expression on her face that looked like… you don’t really expect me to go out in the cold.

Since John passed away, I’ve been booting them out overnight.  They have a bad habit of deciding at 4AM that they want to go out.  That doesn’t thrill me.  John would always be the one that would get up and let them out.  He never commented he just did it.  If I’m getting up at 4AM there better be a much better reason than a cat deciding to go outside.

Well, I went to get Punkin and wondered why she didn’t want to go out now.  I then realized that it wasn’t her that I’d heard.  Rascal is frantically running around upstairs.  Rascal is laid back and mellow so I have no idea what is up with him.  I call him to come down.  He starts to head down and then bolts to my bedroom.

I think what in the world is wrong with him.

As I’m walking upstairs to get him, he runs behind the door and deposits a pile of poop that was huge for his size (If he was a dog I’d say Great Dane sized)!

Grreat.  It stunk worse than Nathaniel’s worst diaper.  It’s 2 AM.  I’m tired.  I just want to go to bed.

I grabbed him and deposited him on the front porch.  I couldn’t even be mad at him.  Poor cat had told me that he needed to go out.  I’d just tuned him out.  He’s five years old and never had an accident before.

I thought to myself… this wouldn’t have happened if John was alive.  John would have put him out long ago.  Sigh.

So… 2AM, I’m trying to get stinky cat poop cleaned off of the carpet.  Rascal couldn’t even follow John’s command of, “keep it on the linoleum.”  That’s is what he’d always tell Winnie when she was having a hairball (she’s an inside cat).  Actually, worked most of the time with her.  Of course, Winnie cat would do just about anything for John.  He adored her and she adored him.

Winnie & John

Winnie & John

In one of John’s visits to the hospital, they’d sent biological odor eliminator home with us.  Turns out that it came in handy to get rid of the stench.

I went to bed missing John… wishing I’d paid more attention and been more attentive.  John just did such a good job of taking care of things.

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Cats, Life after John's Death, Pre-stage IV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

