Shooting star

As I was driving last night in the jeep, I didn’t like the song on the radio.  Flipped stations.  The song that was on was “Jump” by Van Halen.

“Jump” used to be my favorite Van Halen song and I was going to use that one for the funeral video till I listened to a few others and found ones that seemed more fitting.  John had never told me what his favorite Van Halen song was– of course John really wasn’t a ‘favorite’ sort.  He probably liked most all of them.

So, I’m smiling, thinking about John and listening to music that we both liked.  Then out of the corner of my eye.  I notice something bright shooting across the sky.  It was moving way too fast to be an airplane.  No blinking.  And then it was gone.  So, I’m pretty darn sure it was a shooting star!  How cool is that?  I enjoy seeing shooting stars.

The last shooting stars that I saw was standing outside talking with friends a few days after John passed away.  We’d both seen them.

I have some good memories watching shooting stars.  My manager & I taking our break and heading to the nearby park at some crazy hour like 2AM or 4AM and watching the stars.  It was so cold that night!  We both saw several!  Like silly kids- “there’s one!”  “Look, there’s one!”  And back when I was in college, getting a blanket with friends and watching from the horse pasture!

I hope one day, Nathaniel delights upwards to the Heavens and excitedly pointing out the shooting stars!

Last night was just a cool moment.

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Life after John's Death, Nathaniel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shooting star

  1. Aunt Di says:

    I wish you many kool moments, Mary. Love ya’.

Leave a Reply

