This is why we need to fight and research and research and research….

I have a new favorite song. “Maybe Tonight, Maybe Tomorrow” by WideAwake

I have the need to listen to it.  Sometimes for strength and as a reminder to LiveStrong.  I think of John and how hard he fought.  How he gave it his all.  I remind myself that I have to LiveStrong… for Nathaniel, for John, and for me.

Today, I turned it on while I was checking computer stuff.  Nathaniel enjoys listening to music and really likes music videos.  He came toddling in to see what I was doing.  He stood their solemnly watching the video with the inquisitivity of a child and swayed back and forth to the music.

This is why we need to fight… so that Nathaniel and his kid(s) will never have to worry about dying from cancer.  So, that maybe one day they can say, my Dad and my Grandfather died of melanoma.  They didn’t have a cure for cancer back then.  Now they have _____ that can prevent it or _____ that can cure it or _____ that is successful for treating even stage IV melanoma.

In order to find effective treatments, preventative measures, and cures we need RESEARCH… RESEARCH… RESEARCH…

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Life after John's Death, Nathaniel, Stage IV and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

