Busy day… chilly night…

My farrier was supposed to come today to trim the horses.  He was a no show.  I called and got a voice mailbox full message.  I hope nothing is wrong.  My horses need their feet trimmed, badly.

I waited for him to come.  Then friends stopped by and we went out to lunch.  Afterward, I went to the cemetery.  Stopped by Wilson’s to inquire about the Jeep’s brake issue- they told me to check to see if it was still under warranty with Adam’s.  Then I went out to Creeger’s to see if I could find a safe space heater for the garage.  They were calling for the temperature to get down to 27.  I’m really worried about the washer freezing.  I really would like it moved to the basement.  Bought a heater… hopefully it will work.  Hopefully, it won’t cost a lot to run.

Sliced my finger on the heater box when I carried it in.  That was fun trying to screw on the feet with my finger injured.  Didn’t let the pain stop me… got it put together and running.  Monitoring it a bazillion times to make sure it seems safe.  I’m nervous about having the heater in the garage.

I got good news today that my friend that watches Nathaniel is having a BOY and that everything looks good with the baby!  Brought back good memories of our ultrasounds.

Another friend stopped by to drop off some things.  He happened to see a fox in the field.  I like foxes in the woods… not in the backyard… and most definitely not stalking the cats.  Which unfortunately both John and I had witnessed.  Hopefully, this one was just passing through.  John was in charge of wildlife management.

At about 24 hrs, I decided I should try to get a nap.  Took a nice long one.  Talked on the phone to a dear friend.  Fed the horses.

It was crisp outside… frost on the cars… slippery frosty grass, clear sky, bright stars, velvety coats, and fingers of ice starting to cross the buckets.  The horses were happily munching on sweet smelling hay.  Moments like that are moments that I treasured.  The simple pleasures in life.   For a moment, I had that feeling that everything was okay.

Then I missed John.  A chill swept over me.  My fingers were freezing (damn Reynauds).  I just felt cold and alone.  Tears fell.

I went inside and made the parental decision to medicate Nathaniel.  He has an ear infection and needs drops twice a day.  I thought I’d try to just see if I could dose him quickly while he was asleep.  However, I lack stealth, grace, and talent.  So, he woke up.

I medicated and took him downstairs.  He got a clean diaper and some cereal.  I turned my back after loading his spoon and handing it to him.  Turned around and he was dishing himself out more.  Kiddo’s growing up!  This was the first time for me that he’s fed himself with a spoon.  A special moment… slightly dampened without John to share it with.  Hopefully, like somebody told me… he’s watching from the best seat in the house.

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Cats, Friends, Leaky Creek, Life after John's Death, Nathaniel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

