In his own words- Interesting drive

Another archived e-mail.  I’m not sure if he told Ann or not.  I can’t remember.  This was in his red Grand Am.  The date on the e-mail is 5-27-03.  He had sent the e-mail to me.

I was going down 97 this morning (in the fast lane) and there was a wreck on the other side of the road.

So, of course, everyone in front of me jams on their brakes. I do the same. I was doing pretty good until Earnhardt Jr. behind me jabs his a little too hard.

As I’m looking in the rear view mirror I see his eyes get REAL BIG… his nose dives down, his car slides sideways into the other lane…

The next thing I know I’m watching three lanes of traffic coming at me as I slide sideways across the interstate.

Amazingly, thankfully, and luckily no one hit me and I came to rest on the slow shoulder. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to get the car stopped before I hit the guardrail.

But I only grazed it a little bit, so there’s only a few scratches on the front corner of my car. All the guy behind me did was give me a tap so there’s only a rub & a small crack on my rear bumper.

I’m fine, my right wrist is a little sore from hangin’
on, but that’s it.

No big deal, I wasn’t even late for work… I didn’t call because I didn’t want you to freak out, but I wanted to let you know it happened.

Mom doesn’t need to know, I will tell her that someone cut a corner too close in the parking lot & scraped me.

See you tomorrow.

John

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Annapolis Fire Department, Pre-stage IV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

