Hopkins Update

Apparently social networking can make a difference, my Face Book post on Johns Hopkins wall apparently got the attention of a few people.

I just got a phone call from Nelson Haller who is a director at Hopkins.  He had been notified after my Face Book post.  He had listened to the call and said that the way I was treated was wrong and that they are changing their computer systems to link accounts, so that won’t happen in the future.  He assured me that everything would be taken care of and the 3 $25.c0 co pays would be removed and that I was not responsible for them.

His apology was sincere and he gave me his contact information in case I need it.

So, I hope that everything is finally taken care of.  It’s hard enough losing a spouse that you love with all your heart.  Handling the technicalities that go along with death are heart-wrenching as well.  When simple things aren’t handled correctly it doesn’t go over well with me.  I’m supposed to be a good mother who doles out food, changes diapers, plays, hugs, nurtures, corrects, and teaches; an equine caregiver, feeder, and mucker; a feline needs-tender; and a happy “at your service” employee and do all of that in an error free and efficient fashion.  I’m supposed to be able to handle all of this by myself without help and deal with the grief of losing the love of my life without interfering with any of the above tasks.  So, I find it hard to comprehend why hospitals can’t take care of things when I’ve sent in the appropriate paperwork?

So, as I know all too well, the past can’t be changed, but perhaps the future will be corrected.

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Cats, Horses, Leaky Creek, Nathaniel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

