Big snowstorm headed this way…

Rumors are flying about the amount… some people are saying up to FORTY INCHES (forecasts range from 6-26 inches)!!!  Nathaniel is only 34 inches tall… this could be a problem!  Punkin (cat) got high centered in the 17 inches of snow that we got in December.

Here I am without my husband… my rock… the one who always took care of things when it snowed!  He’d help me with barn chores if I needed help.  He shoveled.  He cleared snow with the tractor.

Deep Breath

  • I have a barn full of hay for the horses.
  • I should have plenty of grain.
  • Neighbor will use our tractor to plow the lane and my drive.  He has plenty of diesel and assured me yesterday that we’d be fine.  (Have I mentioned that I have an AWESOME neighbor!!!)
  • I have a generator.
  • I survived the 17 ish inches in December just fine.

So, with a little bit of planning, I should be fine.  Ideally, I should stop by the store and get some more food and another gallon of milk.  Maybe some bread.  All good on toilet paper.  I have a flashlight and batteries.  With the generator, I shouldn’t have to worry, but it only holds a few days worth of propane, better to be safe than sorry.

In advance, I’m thanking John for his foresight to get the generator.  He wanted it for quite a while and insisted on getting it after he got sick.  At the time, I worried about the money.  Now, I’m glad for the peace of mind.

I’m a little concerned about what 40 inches of drifting snow could mean as far as containing horses.  Hopefully, it couldn’t pack enough that they get up high enough to step over.  I have seen my thoroughbred mare stand on top of the snow before…

Squall standing on top of the snow, 2-15-07

I also have some concerns on how taxing getting around in the snow will be on their cardiovascular system.  Ms. Squall isn’t a spring chicken at 23 and the winter has already been tough on her.  Everybody does have blankets, so I’m not too worried about them staying warm enough.

I also may round up felines before the snow and keep them in the house or garage.  Punkin getting stuck in the snow was not a fun experience for me and I’m sure it was terrifying for her.  I also don’t need the cats to become easy prey.

But deep breath… we’re not getting 40 inches… no way… maybe max 2 feet… I did okay with 17 inches… I should be able to handle a few more…

Deep breath…

Look at the bright side… I should be able to get some AWESOME photos!!!  In general, I typically enjoy snow.

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Cats, Friends, Horses, Leaky Creek, Life after John's Death, Nathaniel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

