Digging out…

Monday was the first day we ventured past Leaky Creek since the snow storm.

This is what I had to dig out from...

It took me several go rounds before I got there.  By the time I was finished, I couldn’t squeeze my hand closed without it hurting.  I so wish John had been here, we could have taken turns and he probably would have shoveled more times, to keep it easier to manage.  I just didn’t have the energy.  I don’t have much energy now-a-days.

Kiddo is 34 inches tall as point of reference, 2-8-10

One of the huge "snow mountains" in Martin's Parking lot, 2-8-10

The next few shots are from the snow piled on Hopewell Road.

Hopewell Rd, 2-8-10

Hopewell Rd, 2-8-10

I see this dump truck backing up... I'm not sure what to do, so I stop. He then plows forward, pushing the snow off the road and widening the path. Then he waves me around. 2-8-10

Almost home! This is our property that borders the road. I can't wait to get it fenced this year. The weeds sticking up are really tall... at least chest height if not closer to head height, to give you a point of reference. 2-8-10

Home, sweet home! You can see the big piles to clear the drive & it doesn't look like we have a step going into the house. 2-8-10

Too bad, I don’t have a sled… there actually is a hill kiddo could sled down.  I’ve been told that cardboard boxes and trash can lids work… a little redneck, but hey I do live in Ceciltucky, I mean Cecil County.  Poor John would be rolling in his grave if he thought I’d have kiddo sledding on boxes…

Oh… I should also mention… round two… estimated 10- 18 more inches… Tuesday afternoon into Wed.  Fun, fun, fun….

I’m also concerned about what is going to happen when this all melts.  And if we’ll be able to get more round bales to the horses.  We’ll see.  Wish John was here, but he’s not, so it’s up to me… we’ll figure it out…

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

