Snow photos from Leaky Creek

The last snowstorm dumped somewhere around 2 feet of snow on us.  Enjoy the pics from Leaky Creek.

I am lucky that I have a John Deere with a front end loader and an awesome neighbor to use it.  My tractor skills aren’t very good.

Charlie plowing us out with our John Deere

Tiny & me at the beginning of the snowstorm on Friday- self portrait 2-5-10

Remi looked a little worried. 2-5-10

Two new round bales are a good thing when they're calling for a "blizzard." 2-5-10

I’m so glad that I had two new round bales.  It made horse care SO much easier!!!  I only had to carry hay to Winston & he was in the same barn the hay is in, so no having to go outside.  Wheelbarrows don’t work very well in snow.

The next day brought drastically changed terrain…

Starting with snow in the garage... I don't know if I've ever seen snow in the garage... better than snow in the house... 2-6-10

With snow still heavily falling it was already at least to the horses knees. Tiny & Amber 2-6-10 9 AM

Remi & Squall 2-6-10 9 AM

Another new one for me… the gate was snowed in… Amber tries to help me get it open… she wants her feed! 2-6-10 9 AM

I think this photo sums up the entire storm- Willow 2-6-10 9 AM

Me & Willow Bear-- Day 2-- 2-6-10 (self portrait)

Talk to the Tail, Willow, 2-6-10

Willow 2-6-10

Drift 2-6-10

Winston 2-6-10

Winston 2-6-10

Winston 2-6-10

Bunny 2-6-10

My three strand fence now has two strands visible. 2-6-10

The horses are happy to have the round bale. 2-6-10

The barn cats were on house arrest- they didn't seem to mind. 2-7-10

Nathaniel had a pajama day 2-7-10

Finally, it came time for the barn cats to go outside 2-7-10

Rascal discovers that I actually did plow a path!

Soon Punkin finds the path, too. 2-7-10

Finally, today, I let Nathaniel outside. We went to the grocery store. 2-8-10

So far, so good.  I dreaded the storm without John here.  John always took care of everything.  He shoveled.  He dug the cars out.  Sometimes he plowed, sometimes our neighbor plowed.  John would also helped me with the horses if I needed his help.

But, so far, so good.

Brookview isn’t plowed.  Who knows when they’ll plow that.  I guess if they have a funeral they will.

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

