Seriously, I was only kidding…

Seriously, I was just kidding when I said, somebody would have to die before Brookview Cemetery got plowed, but it appears that is what it took… funeral tomorrow… plowed today.
I was almost shocked to see that the cemetery was plowed!  As soon as I got up there, I saw that they’re digging another hole…  maybe it’s irony… or maybe they don’t plow unless they have a funeral… I do not know the answer at this time… who knows, maybe they charge a snow removal fee to the family, just like they charge extra for weekend funerals.
Can’t you just picture it… somebody pleading with a comatose patient, “NO!!!!  You can’t die on me now, I’ll have to pay extra to bury you– can’t you just hold on till Monday???  Damn funeral is already going to break the bank, no extra money for opening and closing the hole on Saturday!!!  Hang in there!!!  You can do it!!!”
Just excuse me, it’s late (or early) depending on how you want to call it.  I’m sick of people who are all about the money.  I have not had a conversation with anybody official with Brookview, so I can’t say anything for fact, but honestly, could it be merely ironic that the cemetery was plowed today and there is a funeral tomorrow???  After the big snow in December it was rapidly plowed and there was a funeral.  Several other snows… no funeral… no plow…  Coincidence?  I call, NOT!!!
I’m unhappy that somebody else interfered with my plans.  In the grand scheme of things it’s inconsequential… but in the grand scheme of thing, so are most of our lives!  I’m bitter that so often it’s all about the money.  No need to plow the cemetery for Valentine’s Day… no funerals on the 14th or 15th… but better have it ready by the 15th for the 16th!
Of course… holidays are for the living… and in reality what is there for the dead, anyway?    We won’t know till we’re dead and then it’s too late, isn’t it?
On that note… I’m taking my sarcasm and going to bed… a lonely, cold, empty bed alone in the darkness…  Hopefully, my case of sarcasm will be cleared up by Tuesday morning…
And all sarcasm aside, my heart goes out to the family who lost their father/brother/grandfather on the 10th.  My condolences.
About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Life after John's Death, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seriously, I was only kidding…

  1. I had a pleasant conversation with one of the people on the board for Brookview. The snow removal policy is that there is no snow removal policy. So, typically it will be plowed only if there is a funeral. There were concerns of damaging monuments and having heavy equipment tearing up the road.

    I said that it was really rough not being able to go to the cemetery on Valentine’s Day and said that I understood and certainly would not want anybody’s monument damaged. I did inquire if it might be possible to at least clear a spot so somebody could get their vehicle safely off of the road and able to get turned around… perhaps plow up to the “gates.”

Leave a Reply

