Flowers

Okay, those of you who are friends on Facebook already know the story.

On Valentine’s Day, I couldn’t make it to the cemetery.  The day after the cemetery was plowed because they had a funeral.  The day after that I took John flowers.

I had wanted to get yellow roses because they had a special meaning to us.  His father always got his mother yellow roses.  Well, the roses were expensive, they only had them in dozen quantities, and they looked a little past their prime.  I thought red carnations as a  second option.  No luck there either.

So, I being the thrifty person that I am, decided on some pinkish/salmonish colored mini carnations that had bonus buy savings and came in six.

When I got to the cemetery, I decided to leave one of the flowers.  1.  Dead people really don’t care about flowers, do they?   I was doing it more for my inner peace and for me to be able to leave a token of my love for my honey.  2.  It’s cold, flowers don’t do well without water in the cold. 3.  I wanted to be able to share the flowers.  I’ve always liked fresh flowers in the house… I’ve not had them very often, but enjoyed them a lot.

So, I cleared out a spot in the snow where I thought the marker was (it was covered over by snow) and put the flowers out and told John how much I loved him and missed him.

Flowers for John in honor of Valentine's Day, delivered on the 16th, photographed on the 19th.

I put the remaining flowers in with the flowers a friend gave me for Valentine’s Day.

Flowers in the house

On the next visit to the cemetery, I noticed that the flowers looked yellowish.  I figured my mind was playing tricks with me.  I hadn’t gotten a lot of sleep and knew that the flowers couldn’t be yellow.

Then on the 19th, I took a picture (the one at the top).  I thought the flowers looked yellow, but thought I couldn’t be right.

Then a few days later a friend helped me clear off John’s marker and I mentioned the flowers.  I asked what color they were.  I got “YELLOW” as an answer… as if… how can you not tell what color they are… are you stupid… they’re yellow!

When I got back to the house, I showed the friend the vase of flowers and he couldn’t believe they were from the same bunch.

I then decided to do my own little scientific experiment.  I took off another strand of flowers and put it in the snow in the yard.

Days later, and even today, the flowers remained pinkish…

Scientific experiment, still pinkish...

In comparison, the ones at the cemetery…

Cemetery flowers

Cemetery Flowers

So, you be the judge.  I can’t help but wonder, if John changed the color to “send” me flowers…

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Life after John's Death and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

