Bike Ride

It is very important for me to honor and remember John and I want Nathaniel to know what a great father he had.  One of the things that I’m trying to do is put together a memorial bike ride in honor/memory of John.

The problem is I really don’t know a lot about cycling or how to put on a ride.

I talk about my idea often trying to find some resources and ideas to help me bring the bike ride to fruition.  I know that would be one tribute that John would truly love and appreciate.

I have a lot of ideas…

  • a fun ride that offers a great ride for novice cyclists as well as advanced cyclists
  • promote melanoma awareness (possibly sunscreen samples and skn checks)
  • showcase the beauty of Cecil County
  • Raise money for Melanoma Research Foundation so that melanoma can be directly fought (possibly LiveStrong/Lance Armstrong Foundation as well since John was such a huge proponent of LiveStrong)
  • Incorporate kids activities as wel

Shortly after John passed away, I found a ride that he’d created (not sure if he rode it or not) called Tour de Cecil.  He had designed it for his buddy to ride with him- he wanted to give him a bike tour of Cecil County.  The ride he developed is seventy some miles… shorter than a century ride, but with a little tweaking it can probably be extended.

Recently, I’ve made some promising contacts and I really hope that I can put on the first ride this year… so, we’ll see…

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Events in honor of John, Life after John's Death and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

