“Smitty always made us look good.”

AFD’s Retirement was awesome, except for the fact that John was missing.  Nathaniel was a superstar and my friend, Mary Katharine, was awesome… there for support, Nathaniel control, and just to be the wonderful friend that she is!

It was great to see so many familiar faces that I hadn’t seen for months and a lot that I hadn’t seen since the funeral or since the Philly LiveStrong Challenge.

They opened up the floor for people to say things about the retirees.  I hope my paraphrasing does the story justice… I’m not good at re-telling stories… John would always roll his eyes at me as I botched up countless jokes.  One of the firefighters who replaced John at the main station when John moved to Taylor Avenue stood up to talk about John.  The firefighter was a new guy who was only a few weeks out of the academy and the firefighters at the main station kept telling him… you’re pretty good, but you’re no Smitty.  Smitty always made us look good…  After hearing about this almost superhuman Smitty character he finally had the pleasure of working with John and got to see Smitty in action first hand.  John was a talented firefighter and always a professional.  He then understood why “Smitty always made us look good.”

The slide about John

Nathaniel & me at John's retirement

Receiving John's shadowbox... Nathaniel is enthusiastically clapping, I'm fighting back tear.

All of the retirees (or their representatives)

Close up of John's shadowbox

Nathaniel got a fresh haircut and a suit to look spiffy for his father's retirement. We wore matching pins the heart is for hope and the black ribbon is for melanoma awareness.

Like a typical toddler, Nathaniel was fascintated by odd things... like the elk in the glass cabinet...

"Look!"

Here he is practicing to be a door-man. At least you can see how spiffy he looks. I may not clean up well myself, but I think I did a pretty good job with kiddo!

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Annapolis Fire Department, Events in honor of John, Firefighting, Nathaniel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

