Happy Birthday, Ann!!!

Today is Ann’s birthday.  But, she’s not here to celebrate.

Sadly, Ann passed away from cancer in 2004…

She never got to see us build our dream home…

She never got to see us get married…

She never got to meet her grandson…

Cancer sucks…

Ann was truly a class act lady… a wonderful mother and hard worker- it was nothing for her to work a 70 plus hour job and have dinner on the table every night.  She was tireless!  I don’t know how she did it… they don’t make women like Ann anymore.  She was dedicated to the Ladies Auxiliary with the Community Fire Company of Rising Sun.  When I met Ann, she was a widow (John’s father passed away in 1994).  I could tell that she still deeply missed Dave, even years later.  She slept on the couch instead of the bed that they shared.

Ann & I had so many fun times together… Friday nights eating cheesecake & watching “Special Victims Unit.”  I’ll always remember how she’d say, “Your mother didn’t raise you that way” when John would do or say something that perhaps he shouldn’t have.  Even after we lost Ann, I’d often look at John & smile and say, “Your mother didn’t raise you that way.”

So many people bitch and complain about their mother-in-law.  I loved Ann to pieces and wished that I’d had the honor of becoming her daughter-in-law.  (I can’t refer to her as my MIL… she didn’t live to see our wedding,  just like I never had a FIL since I never had the pleasure of meeting Dave).

I know she would have LOVED her grandson like nothing else…

But as John was known to say, “it is what it is.”

So… today, I continued my Annual Buy Flowers in Memory of Ann Day.  This is a tradition that I often do by myself.   One year a friend and I had a grand time sharing the day.  Today, I was again by myself in the tradition.

I always buy some to plant…

These beauties were from Oxford Feed & Lumber…

This year I added some additional ones… I bought 4 little roses from Martin’s.

One with 3 flowers was placed on John’s grave (representing a flower for John, Nathaniel, & me).  I said what I usually say to John and told him to tell his Mom, “Happy Birthday!”

One stem with 4 flowers was placed on Ann’s grave (with a bud that became detached  placed on her side of the headstone).  I told her “Happy Birthday and to tell John that I love him.”

Today, the tears flowed at the cemetery.  A beautiful day without some of my favorite people…

At home, I put the remaining two stems in a vase.  They looked so beautiful.

I told Nathaniel about his Grandmother Smith and what a wonderful lady she was and how much she would have loved him.

Cancer sucks…

“Happy Birthday, Ann!”  Too bad you didn’t have more birthdays on Earth, but I hope you’re celebrating your birthday with your son & husband.  If there are yellow roses in Heaven, I’m sure that Dave got you a beautiful bouquet full of them.

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Life after John's Death and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

