R.I.P. Mr. Hitchcock Sr.

I take a break from telling about my dear mare, Squall, to say goodbye to a dear friend’s father.

Today, Mr. Tom Hitchock Sr. lost his fight with cancer.  I became aware that he had cancer shortly after John passed away.  I think it was the first cancer diagnosis I’d heard of since John’s death.  I remember going to John’s grave and crying and telling John the sad news (yeah, I talk to my dead husband… it’s a one sided conversation, but it makes me feel better).  Stage III lung cancer… prognosis about a year.

Mr. Hitchcock fought a brave fight.  He entered a research study trying a combination of chemo that showed promise.  For a short while it seemed as though the chemo was helping.  And for a while it seemed as if the cancer had stopped progressing.  He continued to go to church and go shopping while he was sick.  Then, alas, the cancer went to his brain.  Hospice was called in.  They gave him 2 weeks… 2 weeks turned to 3… to 4… etc.  I think he was staying alive to make it to a special relative’s wedding.

Hospice advised against him going, but he went anyway.  My sarcastic comment was, “what… are they afraid it will kill him?” (Sorry, I’ve become even more sarcastic in my widowhood.)

Apparently, he enjoyed the wedding, but tired quickly.  His son, my good friend, took him a scenic way home and let the air blow through the vehicle.  How nice of him to do that for his father.  I picture the two of them… knowing their time together is limited… just taking a nice scenic ride and peacefully enjoying the time that they had, probably sitting in relative silence letting the quietness say more than words could ever say.

I didn’t realize what today’s date was till I got the call of the sad news.  I looked at my watch and saw the 21st.

The wedding that Mr. Hitchcock Sr. lived to attend was the 15th… Mr. Hitchcock Sr. passed away today, on the 21st.

Eerily similar to John wanting to make it to Nathaniel’s first birthday (the 16th), and passing away on the 21st.

Two men who both wanted to be there for their families… two men who didn’t want to die… two men who fought a valiant  fight… two men who lost their lives  to cancer… two men who died on the 21st.

My 10 months will be Mrs. Hitchock’s one day… my year will be her 2 months.

I didn’t know Mr. Hitchcock well.  I think my husband, knew him better.  I’d met him on a few occasions.  But, I do know that he raised one hell of a good son (who somehow made it through those rough teenage years) and I know that my friend said that his father was always there for him- through everything- the way a father should be.

My condolences to the Hitchcock family and all of Big Tom’s friends.  Hugs.

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Life after John's Death and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to R.I.P. Mr. Hitchcock Sr.

  1. I also found out that another good friend’s grandmother passed away on the 21st. She was a lovely lady who I admired from my youth. She fought cancer for several years- and was lucky enough to enjoy remission within the battle. I believe she had Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma, but I’m not 100% certain. She also was a fighter, who loved her family, and a wonderful person… so maybe the 21st is a day when great people pass on.

  2. Marci says:

    Its weird sometimes the way the dates fall. My real Dad died on the 15th. Then my step Dad )who I was just as fond of) died on January 15th, my Real fathers BIRTHDAY.

Leave a Reply

