In his own words- Thank you letter to Men’s Warehouse

My mother had passed away and I needed a suit for her funeral services. Not being one who typically wears suits, I needed all the help I could get.

I had just spent over an hour at a national merchandise retailer without having much luck finding a suit to meet my needs, when I stopped by Store 5231 in Christiana, Delaware on Monday, January 5, 2004 at 8:30pm.

Assistant Manager Glenn Richman met me with his tape measure in hand and asked how he could help me. I explained my predicament and he immediately expressed his condolences and told me not to worry.

He promptly took several measurements and pulled out a jacket for me to try. His first attempt was the keeper, even though he had me look at several others. The pants I tried on fit perfectly, I was amazed when I looked at the tag to see that you stock 33.5” waists.

Mr. Richman picked out several shirts with ties to match so that I could have something for both the viewing and service. He was very patient as we narrowed down one tie to a style that met my tastes better then his initial offering.

He grabbed the perfect shoes, helped me pick out a wool top coat, marked my suit & coat for alterations, promised them by 3pm the next day- in plenty of time for the services, gave me his card, told me if I needed anything to call him, and asked if there was anything else I needed.

What more could there possibly be?

Mr. Richman did all of this with a patient & courteous manner despite having to stay beyond closing. When I returned the next day, he was there to ensure that everything was perfect…

I went to my mother’s viewing & funeral feeling as though I had dressed appropriately and respectfully, and I felt good about how I looked. I appreciate the service your store provides and especially appreciate the time & service that Mr. Richman unselfishly gave to me.

Thank you.

I stumbled across this trying to find a download that seemingly disappeared.  John was the computer expert.  He took care of all things computer related. Me… I can turn them on… I’m pretty good at using them for researching and searching the web… but, I know nothing about the inner-workings, how to program, how to create websites, problem solving, and EVERYTHING that John knew…

After I got done crying… I remember the moment vividly.  Ann had just lost her battle with cancer.  John needed a suit to wear.  We went to the Christiana Mall and they didn’t have John’s size in stock.  Then we walked in Men’s Warehouse… we were instantly greeted with someone to help us.  John said he needed a suit for his mother’s funeral.  The employee was so nice and expressed his condolences.  He really took care of John.  John was really moved by the experience.  To this day, the Jeep keys still have the “customer loyalty” tag from Men’s Warehouse.  John didn’t really have a need for suits, but we knew if he ever needed more dress clothes Men’s Warehouse is where he’d go!  John really appreciated companies that took good care of their Customers and he had a strong loyalty to great customer service!

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Pre-stage IV and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

