“John, Mr. Hitchcock, Could you please just hold off for just a few minutes, so I can get the horses fed?”

Today, a great marine, father, husband, and friend to many– Thomas E. Hitchcock Sr.– was laid to rest.

Thomas E. Hitchcock
Born: September 17, 1946
Died: May 21, 2010
Services will be held at: Services will be held at 11:00am on Thursday, May 27, 2010 at R.T. Foard Funeral Home, where friends may call one hour prior.
Visitation times are: Visitation will be held from 6:00 – 8:00pm on Wednesday, May 26, 2010 at R.T. Foard Funeral Home, P.A., 111 S. Queen St., Rising Sun, MD 21911.
Thomas Earle Hitchcock, age 63, of Rising Sun, MD passed away on Friday, May 21, 2010. Thomas was born on September 17, 1946 in Havre de Grace, MD. After a long and successful career in the U.S.M.C. serving overseas and in the U.S., he retired in 1984. He returned home and went to work for the Cecil County Detention Center, where he worked until retiring in 2005. He enjoyed wrestling, fishing, NASCAR, camping, computers, coin collecting, genealogy, drawing, bowling, cross stitching and loved being a prankster. He was a member of the Dove Rivers of Life Fellowship Church in Refton, PA. He is survived by his loving wife, Fern Lorraine Hitchcock of Rising Sun, MD; son, Thomas Earle Hitchcock, Jr. and wife, Mary Katharine Birdsall Hitchcock of North East, MD; daughter, Charlene Lorraine Fenson and husband, Alan Eugene Fenson of Newport, NC; brothers, Carl Hitchcock of CA and Alvin Wilson of MD; sister, Georgianna Scarlota of NC; grand daughters, Shashawnda Brittany Fenson of Havelock, NC, Chantel Denee Joslyn and husband, Justin Joslyn of Rising Sun, MD, Brittany Foraker of Bear, DE and Mary Carrick Jane Birdsall of North East, MD; and grand sons, Kyle Devin Fenson of Newport, NC and Jonathan Manos Wood of North East, MD. He was preceded in death by his parents, Frances Fahey (Powell) Huffman and Raymond Hitchcock and step father, Hoke Huffman. Visitation will be held from 6:00 – 8:00pm on Wednesday, May 26, 2010 at R.T. Foard Funeral Home, P.A., 111 S. Queen St., Rising Sun, MD 21911. Services will be held at 11:00am on Thursday, May 27, 2010 at R.T. Foard Funeral Home, where friends may call one hour prior. Burial will follow at Harford Memorial Gardens Cemetery in Aberdeen, MD. Memorial contributions may be made to Season’s Hospice or the American Legion in Perryville, MD c/o R.T. Foard Funeral Home.

I only met Mr. Hitchcock a few times, but he was the father of a good friend of mine.  I attended the viewing and found out what a great man Mr. Hitchcock was.  It sounded like he was a lot like his son… the type of person who puts family first and means it and who will always be there for a friend.

Funerals are understandability hard for me and I found myself crying a lot.  Once you know what it is like to be a widow you understand and have more empathy for those suffering great loss.

This was the first military funeral that I’d attended and Mr. Hitchcock got a marine sendoff.  It was a beautiful and fitting sendoff .  Once a marine… always a marine…

They were calling for severe storms.  I groaned when after 2 hours of sleep, I awoke to hear heavy thunder and saw rain on the windows.  I hate feeding in thunderstorms… it’s not the safest thing, but animals need fed and sometimes- like tonight there isn’t the option to wait.

Out loud, I said, “John, Mr. Hitchcock, Could you please just hold off for a few minutes, so I can get the horses fed?”

I often picture John excitedly trying new fun Heavenly powers and smiling like he did when he’d find a new “move” on World of Warcraft.”  His whole face would light up as he’d show me or tell me about it.

Suprisingly enough, the storm momentarily paused and the rain almost completely stopped… as I finished feeding the rain started again.

I said, “Have fun boys!  Keep it safe.”

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

