Dear Vision Associates (of Elkton),

Dear Vision Associates (of Elkton),

I didn’t appreciate the rudeness in shutting the door when my child was squawking.  It was made quite apparent by your employee that the door was intentionally shut because of my child and your business did not appreciate the noises emitted from his mouth.  For a brief moment, I felt what it must have been like to have been an African American before equal rights came into effect- it was made very obvious by your employee that “Your kind is not welcome here.”  The lady who was assisting me at my eye doctor noticed the rudeness as well, her comment was, “If I were you, I’d walk right through that other door and get my glasses.”

For the record- my intentions were not to enter your store with a noisy child.  My plan was  to feed him, let my pupils return to normal, and spend some money on new glasses.  However, after such rude treatment, I will be taking my business elsewhere.

Please be aware that some of us do not live the perfect life.  Obviously you don’t know my story and by closing your doors you don’t care to know my story.  Some of us do not have the luxury of having somebody to watch our child while we attend appointments.   It would be wonderful if we all had nannies to care for our children or maids to run errands for us, but not all of us were born with silver spoons in our mouths.  In my case my husband is DEAD! My family is in Virginia.  Friends, who could possibly watch him, do this thing called WORK– during the day.  I am forced to bring my child with me to run errands, go to the store, and well, pretty much everything except when I work.  I know that you would rather not listen to his screaming, I would rather not listen to it as well.  If I could stop him from screaming, I would.  However, he throws his toys and books that I brought with him and at this point he doesn’t know what he wants.  I’m not mother of the year.  I haven’t done this before. I’m doing the best that I can with what I have.  A little understanding and support would go a long way.

Perhaps, I should hide under a rock till my child is past the temper tantrum stage.  Perhaps, I should refrain from such activities as shopping, eating, any form of appointment, or social interaction till my child is old enough to understand that children should be seen and not heard.

Some businesses have kids books or videos for them to play with.  A few minutes ago he was enjoying them. Perhaps the temper tantrum was caused because he had to leave the cool fishy toy.  Some sympathetic employees are known to attempt to entertain my child to re-direct his frustrations.  Usually people understand that kids go through that age… a few minutes prior he was behaving like an angel.  Frequently, I get comments on how well behaved he is.  On Friday, at that moment in time, that wasn’t the case.  In a few more minutes he would have been past his temper tantrum and back to being a charming young man.

Most of us have had two-year-olds at some points in time… they have temper tantrums… they scream.  All of us were two-year-olds at some point in time and we screamed and had temper tantrums in public.  As much as I would love to not go out in public till he is past the terrible twos, I don’t have that option.  A little understanding could go a long way.  I had no intentions of even bringing him into Vision Associates till he was in a happier frame of mind. At this point, I have no intentions of EVER bringing him into Vision Associates.

My child has returned to his happy self, however, we will not be visiting Vision Associates to purchase glasses.  It is a known fact that more people share their negative consumer experiences much more frequently, I have shared this experience where I was treated so rudely with my family, friends, and co-workers, 307 Facebook friends, as well as several mommies groups including a business review section for local mothers.   I will take my business elsewhere where there is a more sympathetic and embracing attitude towards not only parents of toddlers, but to the future generation of consumers. Perhaps, in the future you may wish to have a more sympathetic and embracing attitude towards parents and children.

Sincerely,

Mary K. Smith

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Life after John's Death and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dear Vision Associates (of Elkton),

  1. T McQ says:

    Hi MK,

    I’m so sorry that you had a bad experience. Are you sending this letter to the company? I hope so.

    I sometimes close my door at work when there is a screaming toddler in the waiting room, but it’s never to be rude. If I’m working on my computer or something, I probably won’t even notice (I work at a health centre, there are tons of kids in & out, lots of them are scared about getting their needle or just out from getting their needle, so it’s not like a crying child is rare in our office.) But sometimes, I’m talking to a staff member about a sensitive issue, or I’m on the phone and can’t hear the person on the other end, and I have to close the door. Occasionally I will close my door because the parent looks mortified and like s/he wishes s/he was dealing with their child without an audience. But I always try to give them a sympathetic smile or something else to show it is not in any way a judgement of their parenting skills, or an intolerance to screaming (I have 2 of my own that occasionally melt down in public, after all!)

    Hope your day got better and you were able to get some nice glasses somewhere else.

Leave a Reply

