Philly LiveStrong Challenge

Tomorrow, I’ll be doing the 5K in memory of John.

http://philly2010.livestrong.org/maryksmith

So far, Team Smitty has raised a total of  $$2,045.00

I want to send a shout out to Team Smitty

David Dushkin
Mary Smith
Scott Baer
Carolyn Brown
Elizabeth Bussink
Nikolaus Bussink
Rebecca Clark
Brooke Corridon
Ricky Hayes
Joy Marshall
Phil Marshall
John Menassa
Kari Narvell
Doug Rathell
Kelley Rathell
steve reinsfelder
Nathaniel Smith

Thanks,  so much to everybody for keeping John’s memory alive… it means the world to me.  Thanks, for raising money to fight this dreadful disease.

Today, it was emotional picking up packets, remembering the memories of John doing the challenge in 2008 and remembering 2009- where John set up Team Smitty, but passed away a month before.  All of this while looking forward to 2010.

On my way home, I returned a call, only to find out that a friend was making an unplanned trip to make one last visit to say goodbye to her Grandmother who is dying of  lung cancer.  Several weeks ago my Pastor’s mother died from a brain tumor.  I just heard about a young lady with several children who is suffering from stage IV melanoma and facing many of the same issues that John faced.

So, I’m walking. and riding.. not only for John, (and my beloved Grandma Brown) but for relatives, friends, and furry friends who are fighting and those who have lost their fight.  .  There will be many people in my thoughts and prayers as I complete this years’ challenge.

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Annapolis Fire Department, Cycling, Events in honor of John, Family, Firefighting, Friends, Life after John's Death, LiveStrong Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Philly LiveStrong Challenge

  1. kathleen says:

    rhonda braswell,
    when did you write the poem god saw you getting tired?

Leave a Reply

