Philly LiveStrong Challenge- 2010 vs 2009 vs 2008

I just wanted to say, this year as I’m doing the Philly LiveStrong Challenge it’s quite a bag of mixed emotions… remembering when hubby did the 100 miler in 2008 and I brought our tiny son to meet him at the finish, last year when his death was so fresh (he’d set up the team but passed about a month beforehand), and then this year… where more time has passed and I feel more on my own or alone depending on how you want to look at it.

This year, I’m more cognizant of what is surrounding me… how each person there is there because of somebody- friend, co-worker, relative, child, parent, or spouse who is currently fighting, has beaten cancer (at least for now), or has lost the fight.

To top it off a friend called me yesterday to let me know she was headed out of state to say goodbye to her grandmother who is losing her fight against lung cancer.  It never ends…

In short… I just wanted to say… this year being a little further removed from my own pain, I’m thinking not only of John, but everybody, especially those who have lost somebody dear to them.  My heart goes out most to those who have lost spouses, children, and children who have lost parents.

I hope the $525 that I raised helps to do a little something in the war against cancer, so someday we will win the war…

2008

John greeting Nathaniel, Phlly LiveStrong Challenge 2008- This image will forever stick with me... the love that a father has for his son.

All done... he gave his survivor's rose to me

Crossing the finish line

2009

2010

I was given what is quite possibly THE COOLEST BIKE JERSEY EVER!!!

The first thing that I thought of was how much John would have loved it.  It is PERFECT!!!

Team Smitty for the 5 & 10K. (A few people weren't in the photo)

Me, Mom, & Kiddo (who slept through most of this year's challenge)


About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Annapolis Fire Department, Events in honor of John, Events in honor of John, Family, Firefighting, Friends, LiveStrong Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

