Funny how roles change sometimes… the legacy continues…

Squall was my “watch-horse.”  She’d let me know if anything was out of place and once had an absolute conniption over a kestrel that was in the pine trees.  That little hawk was NOT supposed to be there!  She kept an eye over the skies of Leaky Creek as well as the grounds.

Although, I didn’t have a dog for many years, I felt comfort knowing that Ms. Squall would let me know if anything was out of place.

After she passed, I thought to myself, no more watch-horse.  Two days later, Levi, our watch-dog entered our lives.  Levi had been in the works for about a month, so trust me we didn’t rush out and get a dog to replace our beloved Squall.  Who knows, I’m sure Ms. Squall knew we were getting a dog (Levi visited several times).  Maybe she knew it would be okay to go.

A few days ago, the corn was being harvested in the field next door… and there was her son… my big chestnut, Remington, standing alert and at attention.  Looking nervously towards the cornfield.  Occasionally he trotted  in circles and stopped to snort and alert myself and his pasturemates.  Already a big, tall horse, he looked as if he was about 18 hands standing puffed and commanding attention!

The reins had been passed on.  Remi who reminds me so much of  Squall has now become my watch-horse.

I smiled, told him it was okay, and remembered my ‘ol gal with fondness.

Much in the sense that I now have to be both mommy and daddy to kiddo and in the ways that I see so much of John in Nathaniel.

Squall lives on in Remington… John lives on in Nathaniel…

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Horses, Leaky Creek, Life after John's Death, Nathaniel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

