LiveSTRONG Day, October 2nd

An e-mail I recieved-

Dear Mary,

Thirteen years ago today, I was diagnosed with cancer. Every year

since then, October 2 has served as a reminder to me that even though

cancer left my body, it will always be a part of my life.

And thanks to the commitment of LIVESTRONG supporters like you,

what was a personal anniversary is now a day that the entire community

can rally around.

It’s a day when we come together and wear yellow, attend events and

renew ourcommitment to fight cancer for as long as it takes—and to do

our part to raiseawareness of the 28 million people fighting cancer

worldwide.

LIVESTRONG Day is a declaration that we won’t quit and

we won’t retreat.

That’s why events today will have a real impact by making our

voice even louder:

www.livestrong.org/livestrongday

With each passing year, it becomes clearer that one day we’ll reach

our goal of a world without cancer.

So many survivors are standing tall right now. So many friends, family

members, and supporters are providing the strength and courage it takes

to fight this disease.

The world needs to hear that defeating cancer is our highest priority. I

appreciate all that you’re doing today to make that global statement loud

and clear.

Thanks,

Lance Armstrong

P.S. Watch this powerful video LIVESTRONG put together showing what

this day means—and carry this message with you today:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hL8mCjS0Noc

Nathaniel & I are wearing our Team Smitty shirts today in celebration of LiveStrong Day.  I know John would approve!  Get your yellow on!

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment