Some pics of Winnie

Winnie- at Ann's house. Photo by John P. Smith II

Winnie & HER John

Winnie has beautiful eyes.

Even as a senior, she's a very playful cat! You should have seen her constantly zipping around in her youth!

John took this picture after he last health scare. She is happily recovering on the back of the couch.

Did I mention that she's playful? In 2007.

2008

"People don't own cats, cats own people." Winnie may have came to Maryland as my cat, but she chose John to be her person.

She LOVED her John.!!

Winnie I LOVE her white "tippy tail"

"Time for my pet!"

Sleeping... one of John and Winnie's favorite past times.

At night the three of  us had our bedtime ritual.  John would make the bed just right.  Coaxing and guiding Winnie patiently to the right places by gently and patiently (did I mention patiently) talking to her and guiding her with his fingers.  Usually he’d get into bed first.  Then Winnie would block me from getting into bed.  John would patiently guide her out of the way.  John would put his arm around me and Winnie would snuggle in, so she got the pets from both of us.    I always marveled at John’s patience and his cat “training” abilities.

Sleeping & playing! Winnie loved exploring boxes! 2009

Winnie was my protector before John was.  At the beginning of this year, I had three animals that I’d had before I’d met John… Squall, Winnie, & Tiny.  Lindy is also still alive, but my mom fell in love with her, so she now resides with them.

Lindy was the first cat that I got after graduating from college… she was from an animal shelter in Iowa and just an amazingly friendly cat!  I got Winnie at  1 1/2 or 2 years old to keep Lindy company.  Turns out that Winnie prefers the company of humans to animals.

Winnie was very talented at watching out for humans.  When I moved back home, she’d sleep on the computer desk overlooking the bed, so she should keep an eye on her charge.

Often at night, she’ll stay a while and then attend to kitty business.

Winnie meeting Nathaniel for the first time. She used to hate it when he'd cry and even came to get us a few times. Who knows if she was worried about Nathaniel or if she didn't like the noise interrupiting her zen.

Keeping an eye out.

Nathaniel and Winnie

If you’ve seen Winnie in person… you’re lucky.  She is very choosy about who gets to view her and was NOTORIOUS for running and hiding at first sign of a visitor!  She also was a good judge of character although perhaps too particular.  Every person who has seen her is somebody who I really consider to be a good person.  She also had the ability to tell if someone was of  sound mind and free from the influence.  I thought that was a remarkable trait.

Recently Nathaniel wants to pet her so badly.  But Winnie doesn’t like disturbances, noise, and running… all of which come with the territory of a toddler.  Nathaniel has had the opportunity to pet her on a few occasions, but he has yet to convince her to sit on his lap!

Think some good kitty thoughts for Winnie and hope that she’ll soon be home..

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Cats, Nathaniel, Pre-stage IV and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

