Morning soaking up the rays of sun

Winnie 11-11-10

She’s still very skinny, but she still has her beautiful green eyes and is very happy to still be around.  I snapped this pic with my camera phone this AM.  My parents are up visiting and she was keeping track of the household in her Winnie way while laying on the nice soft dog bed and soaking up a few rays.

Her appetite is much improved.  I give her wet food every time she is interested!  I also called the vet on Tuesday to get permission to stop medicating the wild beast!  My tiny, skinny, old, frail Winnie was turning into some sort of wild Leopard/Tiger/Lion beastie who GROWLED, thrashed, and lashed with her sharply clawed paw while I attempted innocently to drop/squirt her meds down her gullet.  The end result was she was getting sick shortly after… either her frenzy had her so worked up that she got sick or in my survival mode I was shooting the meds down her throat too quickly.  (Have I mentioned that I would rather medicate a 1200 lb equine any day of the week rather than deal with a CAT!)  On the flip side… Winnie having her fight back is somewhat comforting- she’s feeling better– even though my shredded hands were feeling worse.

Who knows how much time she has… who know how much time any of us have… but for now, I’m cherishing the time we have and smiling watching her soak up the rays…

 

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

