Photo a Day Project- Project 365- 11-17-10

I saw this on a friend’s FB page and thought it was a neat idea-

Photo a Day Project- Project 36

I thought, I’ll start it in the AM.  If I wait till Jan, I’ll forget.

Who knew the start would be an ending…

11-17-10 Goodbye Winnie

In this case the beginning starts with an end. Today, Winnie left this earth and hopefully is earning her kitty wings and off to spend eternity up in Heaven with John.

Why are the right decisions so hard sometimes?

Winnie was one of my four personal pets I had before I met John. I lost Squall in July at the age of 23. Winnie was 14 or 15. My parents have Lindy who is a year or two older than Winnie. Tiny is the only one still left with me, she is 15. All I can say is T better stick around and be healthy for quite a few more years… I don’t know how much I can take.

Winnie came into my life in 1997 as a 1 1/2 or 2 year old cat. She enriched my life for many years, but she picked John to be HER person. The two were such a joy to watch. She LOVED him and he LOVED her. I take consolation knowing that they are together again.

Winnie’s is the first grave I’ve dug for any of our pets. She’s buried by the tree in the front along with Kit Kat and Toby (aka Stray Grey).

Thank you to Kari for watching kiddo while I did what I had to do and then let me hang out for a few hours. Thank you to Dr. Charles Foster, Highgrove Veterinary Hospital for being so kind and understanding. A few weeks ago he did what he could to give her a fighting chance and he gave me the gift of a few more weeks with my precious Winnie. He’s truly one of the “good vets.”

Till we meet again… Love you Winnie & John…

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Cats, Leaky Creek, Life after John's Death, Nathaniel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

