Photo a Day 12-15 thru 12-18-10

My apologies for getting a little behind…

12-15 pretty much explains it…

Made sure to never get too far away from one of these. 12-15-10

Nothing like coming down with a stomach bug and having no days at work left… I’m sure I killed my productivity for the month… nothing like feeling like shit and having to take about ten “breaks.”  I hope I didn’t get anybody else sick.  If I had days, trust me I would have stayed home.

When I’m sick is one of the times I really miss John.  My backup is dead.  Nobody to jump in and take care of Nathaniel, feed the horses, heck even feed the cats… Nobody to bring me ginger ale, nobody to go to the store and buy the ginger ale.  Heck at one point in time I had chills and was shaking so badly that I didn’t know if I could get the Tylenol opened.  It reminded me of John’s rigors during his IL2 treatment… the pills that he took to control them were tiny… the one time you’d want a big horse pill.

The worst night, I couldn’t manage to work up enough strength to feed till 5:30 AM… kind of late for dinner.  I just watered and hayed.  Later when they got their real breakfast, Wilson wouldn’t leave me alone, he was sniffing me and looking at me as if he’d missed me and was  very concerned.  Amber looked at us and sighed as if to say… “Get me my damn breakfast woman.  Wilson quit sucking up.  I’m HUNGRY!!!”

I’m finally back to eating solid foods, but now I have a nice set of cough/phlegm  symptoms.  It would be nice to be better by Christmas and it would be very nice if Nathaniel didn’t get it.

On to more pleasant topics…

12-16-10

Kitty prints in the snow 12-16-10

We didn’t get much snow… less than an inch by far.

12-17-10

My holiday confused child who chose to wear his Halloween costume and read an Easter Bunny book 12-17-10

But honestly… it’s a good outfit and a good book…

Amber, Wilson, Willow, & Remi 12-18-10

Finally, warm enough today to take the horses’ clothes off and let kiddo play outside a little.  I got a good bit of barn work done, but I’m thinking I overdid it as I’m now exhausted and coughing… fun fun…

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

