Photo a Day 12-21-10

Lunar Eclipse 12-21-10

One of my frustrations in taking photos (I don’t think I’ve earned the right to call myself a photographer), is when my eye sees something so magnificent and and the lens of the camera doesn’t capture it in all it’s glory, depth of color tones, details, etc.  Of course if we all had that special ability then we’d all be photographers and there definitely is an art to photography.

That being said… the photo I took is lackluster.  The event was quite amazing to witness.  A lunar eclipse like this one, I’m told is very rare.  It reminds me a little bit of how Halley’s Comet was such a big deal when it last appeared in 1986- I was in elementary school… I think they used it in the corner of our school photos.  I’m not up on all of my stargazing… the extent of my abilities of  recognition in the night sky are basically the moon and the 3 stars in Orion’s belt.  Hopefully, it’s Orion’s belt… otherwise I just really made myself look silly.  Once in a blue moon, I see a shooting star.

If John had more time and more equipment, I think he would have enjoyed spending some time looking at the sky.  He was more interested than I was.  He tried to get some good shots of the full moon and would have been able to get a much better photo than myself.  He knew more of the technicalities of aperture and shutter speed and took a few classes at Cecil in photography.

It was very interesting to watch the transformation from full moon, to “nibble missing”, to “bite,” to sliver, to the orange glow in the aftermath.

On my FB page, I described the event-

Pretty darn cool… God at work 😉 John would have enjoyed watching it… he probably gets the better seat from Heaven 😉

I understand that the last time we had this kind of lunar eclipse was well over 100 years ago… if the same time frame follows then maybe John and I will be wrapped up in each others arms watching the next one from Heaven together.

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

