What a day… what a day…

If you start with the premise that the day starts at midnight… it began with a certain little child failing to sleep.  He wanted to sleep in “Mommy’s Room” but he wouldn’t GO to sleep.  Crying and screaming and several tries were involved.  The adventure ended with child screaming in his own room.

Honestly, I’m pretty lucky… kiddo is typically a VERY good sleeper.

I ended up laying in my bed at 3:30 AM listening to the rain… missing John and not being able to sleep… we used to enjoy snuggling together and listening to the rain.

Finally, I fell asleep… who knows what time it was by then…   I must have been tired because my alarm that was set for 7AM had the snooze button depressed semi-conciously till 8:30 AM.

Problem

Dentist appointment at 9AM!

I debated feeding horses quickly.  Then I debated tossing them hay.  Ultimately, I even left the dog in his crate till we got back.

There was a sock crisis.  I was about to jump off a bridge because I couldn’t find a single pair of socks for Nathaniel.  I looked everywhere and was beginning to think I was going insane!  Where in the world had they all gone???? I was about ready to leave Amish style when I found a pair.  A red sock & a white sock… but two )$)%*ing socks!!!

Somehow, we managed to make it to the dentist office by 9:15.  Kiddo happily was entertained by or entertained the office staff while I got my “teethers” cleaned.  The hygienist asked what flavor toothpaste… I requested caffeine… they didn’t have it.  I was adventurous and chose orange creamsicle over the typical mint.

Good news- no cavities!

Then it was kiddo’s turn.  I held my breath… stressed… and tried to do the right thing to give kiddo a good experience and to ensure the best opportunity for him to get his mouth examined and teeth cleaned.  The hygienist… who had been John’s hygienist… was a pro.  Kiddo had his teeth counted and examined… he’s getting more molars which explains his rabid “hand in mouth” that has been going on recently.  She was even able to work on scraping a stain… and got him to wear the sunglasses… he’s not a fan of sunglasses…  He picked the flavor toothpaste… and then…

decided he’d had enough…

“All done!”

The hygenist noticed his socks… she asked him, “Did you do that?”

I kept my mouth shut & so did he.

The dentist was able to get a quick look at kiddos mouth & said it looked good.  By this time kiddo was meltdown down.

Well… more progress than I had anticipated… he got to pick a toy and I got to pay a large bill… funny how that works…

We rushed home and I rapidly fed horses and took the dog out.

We had several temper tantrums before we got to the sitter’s house.  One involved having his DVD taken away because of failure to listen.

I was glad to escape and go to work.  Sometimes, it’s nice to have adult interaction.  We were busy at work which made the day rush by.

Next thing I know… I’m back at Wal mart… this time I bought socks- 10 pair for me… 10 for him.  In theory it should be at least 10 days before the next sock crisis hits!  We’ll see…

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

