“Whatever Doesn’t Kill Me” Finger Eleven

“Whatever Doesn’t Kill Me”

Don’t mistake the silences
There’s so much I haven’t said
It’s not that quiet in my head
But I can’t even tell you that

Whatever doesn’t kill me
Doesn’t make me stronger
But I’m not gonna give up yet
And if these walls should weaken
I’m still strong enough to know
I’m gonna build them up again

There’s one more thing left to try
(And it just might work)
It scares me that you know why
(And I don’t know what’s worse)
Despite my only true desire
I just can’t keep an open mind

Whatever doesn’t kill me
Doesn’t make me stronger
But I’m not gonna give up yet
And if these walls should weaken
I’m still strong enough to know
I’m gonna build them up again

(Now that I am strong enough to know)
I’m gonna build them up again
(Now that I am strong enough to know)
I’m gonna build them up again
(Strong enough to know)

There were walls and promises
And they’ve all broken down to bits
And it’s exactly times like this
I found the words I should have said

Whatever doesn’t kill me
Doesn’t make me stronger
But I’m not gonna give up yet
And if these walls should weaken
I’m still strong enough to know
I’m gonna build them up again

Reminds me of a favorite Winston Churchill quote…

If you’re going through Hell, keep going…

Some days it’s like a bull in a china shop… others day like a baby taking it’s first steps… and still other days it’s like being mired in mud or sliding on ice or hitting black ice at 50 miles an hour doing a 360 and ALMOST ending up in a ditch with inches to spare (oh wait… I actually did that years ago…) And then there are the days where it’s virtually “normal”… not the old comfortable “normal”… but the new and different “normal.”

Irregardless… I keep going… and I’m not going to give up yet…

Wonder what old Mr. Winston would have thought of Finger Eleven…

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Life after John's Death and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

