Hmmm…

From my Photo of the Day album– which incidentally is still going fairly strong on Facebook-

At the advice of a friend, I checked out “What to Expect:  The Toddler Years” by Arlene Eisenberg, Heidi E. Murkoff, & Sandee E. Hathaway, B.S.N. from the library.  From it’s well worn cover, I figure one of two thing… 1.  Either I’m not the first parent of a toddler who has faced desperation or 2.  A toddler got a hold of the book… or maybe it’s a combo…
Is it ironic that “What to Expect: The Toddler Years” is way thicker than my bible? Of course… the title is “What to Expect?” Not “How to Survive: The Toddler Year.” That probably doesn’t exist and if it did it would probably encompass an whole encyclopedia set.
I do, however, think that surviving the toddler years requires a lot of the praying. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve said “Oh Dear Lord!!”
Luckily, it is less often that I mutter another phrase which probably wouldn’t be so well looked upon…
The good news is, starting reading it at him being 2 1/2 years allows me to skip over 370 pages… Phew… I showed the book to a co-worker who has a 3 year old who is driving her up the wall… she said… “Who has time to read all of that?”
I read a section to Nathaniel-
Shopping with Toddler: Mission Impossible
Hmm… that’s reassuring… isn’t this supposed to be a self help book?
It’s yet another of the ironies of parenting:  Having a toddler makes it necessary to do more shopping, yet that same toddler also makes it almost impossible to get any shopping done at all?
I said, “Hmmm…”
Nathaniel said, “What??”  Not only did he say, “What?”  His tone of voice was innocent and coy… as in “not me… I’m a perfect angel, Mommy.”
Hmmm… I thought of a conversation John had had where he said that he thought Nathaniel was born with a sense of humor… I had agreed…
What a stinkerbutt!… Nathaniel… not John…
I was intrigued to learn how to make shopping with a toddler possible!!!  In my hands I had to be holding key… they very answer was behind the locked door number four!  I ready on… silently, so as not to cue in the opposition on my secret discovery…
Dont’ leave home with “it.”  A toddler, that is.  Unless a fitting is necessary (as it is with shoes), even shopping for toddler clothing is better accomplished with out the toddler (chances are, he or she will refuse to try them on , anyway).  Seize the opportunity to shop whenever there’s someone else is around to stay home with your child- at stores, with convenient evening, round-the-clock, or weekend morning hours.
Great that was helpful… back to late nights at Walmart & internet shopping… guess I’ll have to take my chances at not ending up in the peopleofwalmart.com.  Crawling back to my single parenting sucks… miss you John… hole… We’ll see what the other 883 pages have to offer… when I get a free moment…
About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Life after John's Death and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

