Perspective

Driving home song lyrics yet again caught my attention,

“He has his father’s eyes.”

Kiddo has his daddy’s eyes… no doubt.  I loved John’s eyes and would often find myself just staring into them…. captivated.  They were a unique color.

If John caught me he’d tell me to stop.

Kiddo’s eyes are the same shade.  Sometimes it’s comforting.  Sometimes it’s sad.

I like the song, but for some reason, I was in a lyric listening mood…

“Help is on the way.”

And then the desperation that “help” was not coming.

I thought of leaky basements, holes in roofs, buildings in disrepair, and broken promises.

I wondered what the song was really  about… probably a natural disaster… my guess would be Katrina.

After arriving home and settling in, I thought to look it up on youtube.  The video was beyond powerful and brought tears to my eyes.  It also brought to light that no matter how promises were broken, at least, I’m not standing on a roof with water up to the eaves.

Help Is On The Way by Rise Against

Although, the video left me optimistic that “help” will reach the families.  In my own life, I think “help” has moved on…

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

