Happy Birthday, Remington!

Our dear little Remington… ok, not so little.. Remi turned NINE, today!!!

On May 16th, 2003, Squall delivered a healthy colt.

Squall and Remington, May 16, 2003

My friend, Erin, helped with the delivery as she’d been a part of many more foalings than I had.  John was working and the next day was very excited to meet the new addition.  Later in the day on the 16th, John took this photo of Remi.

Baby Remi, May 16, 2003 (photo by John P. Smith II)

Remi was the first foal that I’ve bred.  He was so special to us.  John printed out photos and his mother, Ann, himself, and I all took photos to show our new addition.

These days, Remi, isn’t so little anymore… I’m not even sure what he sticks at, I quit measuring my moose after he got to be 16.1 1/2 out measuring both his dam and his sire.  He wasn’t quite the 15.2 tri-color filly that I was dreaming of, but we love him very much!  His mother, my beloved, Squall is up in Heaven with John and Ann and I’m sure Ms. Squall will be waiting for me at the rainbow bridge.

And Remi, he’s still very special, but just not the only “foal” anymore.

Happy Birthday, Remington!  Let’s hope I get to share about twenty or more healthy years with you, my friend.

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Horses, Pre-stage IV and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

