Rosie and the new supplement

Rosie is our 28 year old, well loved, Welsh pony mare.  She was a retired broodmare and has a gentle and peaceful personality and is filled with charm and grace that is rare among equines.  She is hard to keep weight on and has Cushings and founders frequently.  Rosie realizes her physical limitations and despite her feet, she still greets me with bright eyes, pricked ears, and a nicker for her grain!  In human years she’d be the equivalent of somebody about 80 years old and she treats her condition as a way of life and copes with grace and dignity.

Cushings and founder can be so difficult to manage and they can be such heart breaking diseases- at any point things could go south and we’d be done.  Rosie complicates things by being a hard keeper and picky eater and has  well worn teeth.  Many of the feeds that are recommended she won’t touch and she doesn’t like soaked/wet feed.  Luckily, she is comfortable with her condition and still on her feet, happy, and bright eyed.  If the time comes when she’s done, she’ll let me know, but for now she’s still happy with life and I feel very blessed to have this wonderful pony in my life.

Despite her medication (pergolide – permax), her feet are bothering her again.  I’ve been speaking with a lady at the feed store because Rosie had gotten picky about eating her Alam grain which is supposed to be one of the best choices for IR/Cushings horses.  We switched to a Smart Carb which she enjoys (at least for now).  The lady at the feed store suggested a supplement and I decided to try it.  If it lives up to half of the claims it makes, I’ll be happy.

I think when I bought the supplement I made the comment driving home, “Please, God, let this work!”

The next morning, kiddo is helping me feed and as I got out the supplement, he said confidently, “When this works, Rosie will feel better and my Daddy will appear and see me.”

I asked him to repeat it and he did.  I tried to put two and two together and decipher the mind of a four year old and I couldn’t wrap my mind around it.  I asked him if his Daddy ever came and visited him because they say that kids often have those experiences.  But he told me, “No, my Daddy just stays up in Heaven.”

So, I don’t know… I can’t quite wrap my head around his statement… he may be associating my conversation of God, and praying that this works with Heaven and Heaven is where his Daddy is.  I don’t know.

I do know that I have a little boy who desperately wishes he had his Daddy and draws him pictures and says he misses his Daddy and leaves me saying, “I miss Daddy, too.  He loved you very, very much and wishes he could be here with you.”

So, prayers for my pony… hugs for my son… and Love Always to John!

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

