Prayers for George

Today, kiddo and I were having lunch at one of our favorite establishments, Miss Oxford Diner.  One of the waitresses loves kiddo and the two of them were having fun.  We were almost finished our lunch and kiddo was filled with smiles, and giggles.  A man and a woman got up to leave.  The man had crutches and bandages on his leg and his leg was swollen and inflamed.  The man was struggling to get around.  Nathaniel looked at me questioningly.

I could only hope that kiddo wouldn’t say anything too loud or two embarrassing.  I told him quietly, “The man has a boo boo on his leg.”

After the pair finished paying they walked slowly up to us.  He introduced himself as George and the lady as Lisa.  The man handed me two dollars and said that Nathaniel was inspiring to him.  I asked him if he was sure.  I didn’t want to be rude by saying, “No!”  But I didn’t necessarily want to take the man’s money.  He was obviously not in the best shape and looked like he could use the money more than kiddo.  He told me to keep the money and put it in Nathaniel’s piggy bank.  We told him, “Thank You!”  He told Nathaniel to, “pay attention and do well in school and go to college.”

He then looked at my shirt.  I was wearing the “Cancer- Dislike shirt”  (For a pic click on the link and then click on RFL T-shirts and Hoodies).  On the front it says, “Cancer- Dislike” with a thumbs down and on the back it says “Cure- Like” with a thumbs up.  He asked me about the shirt and I told him that my husband had died of cancer.  He said that he had cancer.  Suddenly, it all made sense.

The woman said, “we’re past the doctor stage.”  I didn’t inquire, but to me that sounded like they weren’t doing further treatments.  George proceeded to tell me that the doctors had given him 6 months to a year.  I believe he said that today was a year.

They said that they’d keep us in their prayers.  I thought, here he is probably dying of cancer and he’s saying he’ll keep us in his prayers.  I smiled, managing not to cry, and said that I’d keep George and Lisa in my prayers.  After they walked away, I said a quick silent prayer.

I sat there for a few minutes processing what had just happened and thinking about what probably George and Lisa would be going through in the future.  I thought about how I can’t look at the menu and see Maryland Crab Soup and not think of John and how much he liked it.  And how much John missed their crab soup when he couldn’t eat anymore.  And of how once, I got a cup carryout and ran it through the blender for him, so he could have it without worrying about it blocking his GI tube.  And the smile on John’s face when he tasted his beloved Maryland Crab Soup.  I wondered what it is like for somebody to see an adorable, young boy, who is so full of life and happiness and to realize that he doesn’t have a Daddy to hug or to play ball with him.  I’m sure it is quite a shock to many.

So, please if you’re the praying type, say a prayer for George and Lisa and pray that George can continue to defy the odds and beat the cancer.  Cancer- DISLIKE!!!  Cure- LIKE!!!

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Life after John's Death, Nathaniel, Relay for Live, Stage IV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

