SHE GETS IT!!! “You don’t need closure to heal.”

“Meet me where I’m at!”  Nancy Berns truly “gets” it!!!  FINALLY, somebody who can put into words the process of dealing with grief… or even hard times- like a health crisis.

“YOU DON’T NEED CLOSURE TO HEAL…”
It’s not about forgetting… pushing away… moving on… it’s about moving forward, remembering, treasuring, and honoring.  Yes, grief comes with sadness, tears, and heartache, but often there is joy and love and remembrance!!!

I seem like my life is filled with those who want everything in the box and to leave the box and go back to the spot of joy.  I know there are the people who think, “Geez, Mary it’s been 3 years since John died.”  And the people who think “maybe you’ll meet somebody else.”  But the truth is… it doesn’t matter if there never is “another man.”  John will be with me for a lifetime… forever in my heart and never far from my mind.  He was that amazing and had such a tremendous impact on my life.  We shared a true love… a great marriage… and produced an incredible son.  Those are things to treasure forever.

I truly would like to thank those people who understand that it’s not about closure and forgetting.  THANK YOU to those who have truly been there for me and for Nathaniel.  Thank you to those who “get it!”  Thank you t those people who have met me where I’m at and not ran away when I’m not in that place of joy and loved/cared about me for who I am.  There aren’t many people that have but for those who have they don’t know how much their friendship, compassion, and caring has meant for me in my times of grief.

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

