Election Day

Four years ago, we went to the polls together.  John took Nathaniel with him to vote and even let kiddo help him select his choices.  John was tickled pink to take kiddo to take part in his first election.  Nathaniel even got a sticker that said “future voter!”  We smiled and were so proud of our boy and that he will have the luxury of growing up as an American.  Part of a country where he can work to make himself successful and to make the country a better place!  I’m glad we live in a country where upward momentum is possible and dreams can become reality!

John enjoyed politics.  He enjoyed listening to and analyzing the candidates.  He liked watching the debates.  We’d discuss the pros and cons of the candidates.  I really don’t care for politics much and the negative campaigning of this election has disenfranchised me.

In 2008, I felt cheezy taking the camera with me… who takes their camera to a polling place???  But ultimately, I was very glad that I took a camera with us when our family went to vote.  I captured these three photos… a confused chubby baby and a proud papa!  These are some photos of John that I will treasure and Nathaniel can not only identify with but can see the love and pride that his daddy had for him.

Nathaniel, Election Day 2008

Father and son

John and Nathaniel

John and Nathaniel, Election Day 2008

So… follow the signs… “Vote Here!”

In the morning, I plan to take Nathaniel to vote.  I wish I could get somebody to take our picture in the same spot, but I doubt it… it is just the two of us now.  I think back to how optimistic and happy I was four years ago… hopes, dreams, new baby boy.  Now, four years later, I’m a bit like the American economy… worn out, run down, and lacking energy and sluggish and slow moving, with little forward momentum, but maybe the two of us can spring back to life… rejuvenated, invigorated, and solid, strong, and moving forward.

We’ll see!

At any rate- when you think about Election Day- remember a proud papa, teaching his baby boy what this country was about.  Remember the hopes and dreams for the future.  Vote for the best candidates… those who can once again make the American Dream reality!

Do your civic duty!  VOTE!!!!

 

 

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

