“Come with Me”-poem by Rhonda Braswell

The Lord saw you getting tired
And a cure was not to be,
So He put his arms around you
And whispered, “Come with me.”

With tearful eyes, we watched you suffer
And saw you fade away,
Although we loved you dearly,
We could not make you stay.

A golden heart stopped beating,
A beautiful smile at rest,
God broke our hearts to prove
He only takes the best.

It’s lonesome here without you
We miss you so each day,
Our lives aren’t the same
Since you went away.

When days are sad and lonely,
And everything goes wrong,
We seem to hear you whisper,
“Cheer up and carry on.”

Each time we see your picture,
You seem to smile and say,
“Don’t cry, I’m in God’s keeping,
We’ll meet again someday.”

Rhonda Braswell

I found this online and thought it was touching.

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Life after John's Death, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “Come with Me”-poem by Rhonda Braswell

  1. Chanel says:

    i will totally be reading this for my grandfathers funeral

  2. katrina wijohn says:

    just heard this poem read at my friends mothers funeral i am so reading this at my nanas it is so touching.

  3. Erika says:

    My father in law just lost his battle with cancer on Friday… i love this poem it is so beautiful!

  4. My mother just died and I found this poem while browsing the web. I posted it in my facebook wall. . . It’s so touching and meaningful . . . thanks u for posting this . .

  5. Rosie says:

    My dad just passed on Sun Dec 1 – I am heartbroken

  6. Tony says:

    My wife Margaret died of Alzeheimers just two weeks ago. I was looking for something to express how I felt at her farewell and I chanced upon the poem. It expressed everything I felt, Even now as I read it again, it brings a tear to my eye – death is so final – but it cannot take away the beautiful memories of being together 34 years.

  7. tisha says:

    This peom made me cry lost my grandad nearly 7 years ago I was only 6 miss my grandad like hell

Leave a comment