The dentist!

Kiddo and I had our dentist appointments and I’m glad to report we survived.
Raising a three year old is quite an adventure!  The last appointment we had he was a total pill and refused to even get his teeth cleaned.  This time we were separated and had our appointments at the same time and I spent a good part of my appointment with my fingers crossed hoping my cherub would cooperate and not leave me having to find a new dentist out of embarrassment!

I heard a lot of “NO!” and “Done!”  But apparently, he did behave himself reasonably well and was able to get his teeth checked and cleaned!  PHEW!!

However, he was done much earlier than me and got to pick a toy out of the prize box once he had his toy he lacked incentive TO behave.

And there I am… flat on my back with stuff crammed in my mouth, pretty much like an upside down beetle!

Kiddo wanted to craw on his mommy-gym while I was getting my teeth cleaned… sigh… and then he got bored with that and started bouncing off of the walls… ugh… his book was of no interested… NO he didn’t want to see the fish… NO he didn’t want to sit quietly… NO he didn’t want to read his book… NO he didn’t want to color… luckily, to my knowledge he wasn’t disturbing other patients and the office staff is beyond accommodating– John and I had went there for YEARS before we had kiddo.

I realize why so many mothers are terrible about doctor, vision, and dental checkups.  It takes a brave woman to enter those places with young child and unlike other parents, I can’t have him stay home with Dad or have Dad come along to assist.  But with a little help… I mean a lot of help… from our friendly dental office, we made it through!  Maybe in December he’ll be more quiet, mellow, and well behaved… well… a woman can dream, can’t she???

 

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Life after John's Death, Nathaniel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

