Lounging pants

John liked to be comfortable when he was just hanging out in the house.  He’d usually have on a comfy T-shirt and what he referred to as “lounging shorts.”

Punkin, John, & Nathaniel. August 2008

John, Nathaniel, & Rascal, October 2008

John & Nathaniel, October 2008

John & Nathaniel, October 2008

After John has his surgery at NIH in April, he asked me to get him some “lounging pants” because he wanted something warmer.  He made sure to tell me that he didn’t want pajamas.

You should have seen me in Walmart trying to find “lounging pants.”  The only things that I could find that seemed like what he wanted were called “sleep pants.”  After combing through the store… I decided that must be what he wanted.

I purchased a size that is larger than what he usually wears because he had an incision in his belly and I thought it would be more comfortable.

I bought several pairs and took them home and washed them and then took them to the hospital.  I was so worried that he’d look at them and be like “These are pajamas… this isn’t what I wanted.”

But… they were exactly what he wanted.  Phew!  I don’t think I ever told him that they were called “sleep pants.”

Now that it’s getting colder and I’m being a miser about turning on the heat, I’ve been wearing his “lounging pants” to bed.  (I know pretty amazing that I’d fit into John’s clothes… like I said…  I got him a bigger size).  They are so comfortable!!!  I see why he enjoyed wearing his “lounging” clothes.

About Mary K. Smith

I was widowed in July 2009, when I lost my beloved husband, John, to melanoma. Cancer SUCKS. We have a young son who was just a year old when his father died. I live on a small farm in Maryland which is home to horses, cats, and a dog. I started this blog as a way for me to heal, a way to remember my husband, and eventually I'd like to share it with our son so he can see the love that his father had for him, the love that we had for each other, what a great person his father was, and how hard his father fought to live.
This entry was posted in Life after John's Death, Pre-stage IV, Stage IV and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lounging pants

  1. Candace says:

    I wear my hubbies tshirts and sleeping pants to bed as well. They are comfortable and they keep me close to him. Melanoma claimed my hubby as well.

Leave a Reply

